The NW Warriors have gone with the same squad that lost narrowly to MTB Northern Knights in the opening game of the interpro competition for their trip to Dublin on Thursday.

Boyd Rankin (back) and Conor Olphert (quad muscle) are still injured, but the Warriors will have William Porterfield in their ranks as he juggles playing commitments with his new coaching role with Warwickshire aka Birmingham Bears.

The Warriors have won the T20 Trophy once in its seven years, back in 2014.

History isn't on the side of Ian McGregor's charges as they  have also only won once in the shortest format against Leinster Lightning in Dublin.

That was back in 2017 when Craig Young's five wicket haul was the catalyst for a seven-wicket win.

(Craig Young after his five wicket haul against Leinster Lightning in 2017.)

Young is one of six survivors from the game in the squad, along with skipper Andy McBrine, David Rankin, Stuart Thompson, Graham Kennedy and Ross Allen.

Graham Hume was the Warriors stand-out player last week, while Nathan McGuire will be hoping to do well against his home region.

Will Smale will once again don the gloves, while Kyle Magee and Varun Chopra will probably compete for the final starting berth.

The action at Sydney Parade is due to start on Thursday at 1.30pm.


Andy McBrine (capt) (Donemana), Ross Allen, Kyle Magee (both Brigade), Varun Chopra, Graham Hume, Will Smale (all Coleraine), Graham Kennedy (Ballyspallen), Nathan McGuire (Rush), William Porterfield (Formby), David Rankin (Bready), Stuart Thompson (CSNI), Craig Young (North Down)