There was a first for NW cricket as the first T10 Championship matches in the Union's history were played on Wednesday night.

The matches are seven-a-side affairs with eight teams competing in the inaugural event, split into two groups.

Three games went ahead with Bready hosting Fox Lodge, Killyclooney entertaining Newbuildings, and a Donegal derby between St Johnston and Letterkenny.


Johnny Robinson had the honour of facing the first ball in the tournament from Ian Young - back playing after a few years out of the game following his horrific injury.

Robinson (21) and Brian Allen (29*) were the main contributors in a Foxes total of 86 for 3.

Dean McCloskey (2-9) was the pick of the Bready attack.

Young top scored with 27 in the Bready chase, opening the bat with youngster Jamie McCombe (15).

With 24 needed from 8 balls it looked a forlorn chase but Davy Scanlon struck a six and four from consecutive balls to leave the equation a more achievable 14 from the last over.

However Johnny Robinson (2-12) had both Scanlon and Davy Rankin (19) caught on the boundary by Ali Doherty as the Foxies closed out an eight-run win.

(Winners Fox Lodge)

Elsewhere Johnny Thompson's unbeaten 50 saw Newbuildings chase 97 to beat Killyclooney, while Jack MacBeth was the night's top scorer with 60 as St Johnston defeated Letterkenny by 58 runs.