T20 CUP holders Donemana made a convincing start to the new campaign with a crushing 69 runs victory over Ardmore to claim the advantage in Group 4 of this season’s T20 Championship.

Donemana totalled 153-3 with Dwayne McGerrigle hitting 10 sixes in a whirlwind finale which saw him hit 82 not out, in an unbroken stand of 115 with Dean Mehaffey (38 not out). The visitors were restricted to 84-8 in reply with Ash Buchannan, Mehaffey and Levi Dougherty sharing six of the wickets.

Bonds Glen were the other group winners in the closest game of the day; Ben Nixon hitting the fourth and fifth balls of the final over for four and six to pass Killyclooney’s 173-8. The win had been set up by opener John Long’s 61.

Ryan McBeth took 4-11 against his former club as Brigade restricted St Johnston to 79-8 but dropped a point as they lost Davy Barr (30) and Ryan Hunter (29) in reaching their target in the 15th over.

Newbuildings, the busiest team in the transfer window over the winter, won the other Group 2 game, also by eight wickets, with Johnny Thompson, who has moved from Beechgrove, and Ross Dougherty, another new face, each hitting unbeaten 50s as they chased down Glendermott’s 142-6 with 25 balls to spare at The Rectory.

Coleraine made it two wins out of two in the three-team Group 1, following up their victory over Ballyspallen on Friday night with a 10 wickets success at Eglinton; Scott Campbell (55 not out) and Rishi Chopra (41 not out) enjoying a number of lives as they reached their target of 109 in the 18th over.

In Group 3, Bready were the surprise losers, bowled out for 88 en route to a 67 runs defeat by Burndennett. Only captain Davy Scanlon reached 20 as Mark Roulston took 4-15 after Ross McCay had hit the top score of the day, 87, which included nine fours and five sixes, in the home side’s 155-5. McCay dominated a second wicket stand of 123 with Andy Barr who made do with 31.

Fox Lodge were the other winners, with their modest 113-7, 18 runs too good for Strabane. Brian Allen’s 29 was the best individual contribution in the low-scoring match and Foxes skipper Aaron Heywood and returning Johnny Robinson, a double winner with Brigade last season, shared five wickets to keep the Reds Caps in check.