Former Irish internationals were to the fore as the Leinster season got under way with seven matches down for decision.

John Mooney was back in the black and red of North County, making 22 as they posted what looked a modest 125 for 6 at home to Balbriggan in the Fingal derby - Jonathan Andrews making a hard-hit 47.

Any thoughts that Balbriggan had of chasing it down were blown away by Eddie Richardson and Dhram Singh who took three wickets apiece as they were left reeling at 25 for 7.

There was no way back from that although Abdul Sattar (33) and Duane Harper (25) ensured they weren't completely embarrassed as they finished on 89 for 9.

Mooney's World Cup team-mate Kenny Carroll top scored with 64 as Railway Union upset YMCA by three runs in the game of the day.

'Squacko' clubbed 6 fours and 3 sixes in his 48 balls innings, while Danny Barclay kept the momentum going as he hit an important 43 from 28 deliveries.

YMCA almost pulled off the win, with Bobby Gamble (33*) and Tom Anders (21) scoring 46 off 25 balls after they were struggling on 88 for 6.

With 14 needed off the last over from Hashir Sultan, a wide was followed by the wicket of Anders. Gamble managed to hit the penultimate ball for four, but could only manage a single from the last where a four would have ensured a tie.

John Anderson was the top scorer of the day, his 81 and an unbeaten 37 from Max Sorensen saw Merrion post 167 for 4 at North Kildare. Hugh Kennedy then took four wickets in a comfortable 86-run win.

The Hills ran out convincing eight-wicket winners at home to Terenure, dismissing the visitors for 108 - three wickets apiece for Cian Nulty and Jonathan Tall.

Mark Donegan (37*), Levon Shields (27*), and Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin (25) were all in the runs as the target was knocked off in the 11th over.

One new face on the Leinster scene is Jeremy Lawlor at Phoenix, an Irish passport holding all-rounder just released by Glamorgan who is keen to break into the Irish set-up. He took two wickets as Dublin University were restricted to 104 for 6, and followed it up with an unbeaten 46 to seal a six-wickets win.

Irish Cup and Leinster league holders Pembroke beat Leinster by eight wickets with Theo Lawson (51*) and Fiachra Tucker (43*) sharing an unbroken third wicket stand of 71 in 55 balls, to chase down Leinster's 132.

T20 cup holders Malahide beat Clontarf by 46 runs in the highest scoring game of the day. The villagers got off to a flying start as Alan Reynolds and Arjun Muntha shared an opening stand of 102 in  just eight overs.

Reynolds smashed 8 fours and 3 sixes as he top scored with 61 from only 29 balls, while Muntha's 38 from 22 (5 fours, 1 six) offered excellent support.

Gregory and Matt Ford (sons of Ireland coach Graham) kept the momentum going with 36 and 18, and a final total of 171 for 6 was always likely to be challenging.

Robert Forrest (30) and Andrew Vincent (27) got the Castle Avenue reply off to a brisk start with an opening partnership of 64, but both were removed in quick succession by Cameron Shoebridge - who has the unique distinction of playing international youth cricket for both Ireland and Scotland.

Shoebridge's excellent spell saw him pick up 3 for 13, and with Matthew Ford taking two wickets, Clontarf finished 45-runs adrift on 126 for 7.


At Inch
North County
125/6 (20 overs; Jonathan Andrews 47*, Salman Aziz 25, John Mooney 22; Matthew Varner 2-15) beat Balbriggan 89/9 (20 overs; Abdul Sattar 33, Duane Harper 25; Dhram Singh 3-4, Eddie Richardson 3-7) by 36 runs

At Park Avenue
Railway Union
146/8 (20 overs; Kenny Carroll 64, Danny Barclay 43; Tom Anders 2-23, Mikey O'Reilly 2-29) beat YMCA - 143/7 (20 overs; Bobby Gamble 33*, Mitchell Thompson 27, Jack Tector 23, Tom Anders 21; Prabanshu Kamal 3-28, Hashir Sultan 2-27, Alex Stiles 2-31) by 3 runs

At Milverton
108 all out (17.2 overs; Seamus Lynch 34, Mick Cotter 22, Dewald Barnard 20; Cian Nulty 3-13, Jonathan Tall 3-23, Killian Everard 2-31) lost to The Hills 111/2 (10.5 overs; Mark Donegan 37*, Levon Shields 27*, Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin 25) by 8 wickets

At The Maws
167/4 (20 overs: John Anderson 81, Max Sorensen 37*) beat North Kildare 81/7 (20 overs; H Mahroof 34 Hugh Kennedy 4-12) by 86 runs

At Sydney Parade
123/9 (20 overs; Monil Patel 32, Saqib Bahadur 28; Scott Ruttle 4-20, Paul Lawson 2-21) lost to Pembroke 125/2 (17.3 overs; Theo Lawson 51*, Fiachra Tucker 43*, Ryan Hopkins 28; Saqib Bahadur 2-15) by 8 wickets

At Phoenix Park
Dublin University
104/6 (20 overs; Michael Hogan 35, Danny Hogan 25; Jeremy Lawlor 2-19) lost to Phoenix 105/4 (15.2 overs; Jeremy Lawlor 46*; P Prabhu 2-27) by 6 wickets

At Malahide
171/6 (20 overs; Alan Reynolds 61, Arjun Muntha 38, Gregory Ford 36; Kashif Ali 2-23) beat Clontarf 126/7 (20 overs; Robert Forrest 30, Andrew Vincent 27, Waqar Azmat 23; Cameron Shoebridge 3-13, Matthew Ford 2-25) by 45 runs