20/20 Vision Sees Cricket Start

The Northern Cricket Union has revealed a major revamp of what remains of its season with a series of competitions all played under 20 over rules.

The shortened games in the shortened season get under way on Saturday with the Union's three main sponsors coming together for a completely new look fixture list.

The eight Premier league clubs will compete for the Robinson Services Cup, playing each other once with the top four going through to the semi-finals.

The eight clubs will also play a knock out competition for the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Cup with the winner lining up in All-Ireland T20 finals.

(CIYMS, pictured right, were Robinson Services Premier League champions in 2019).

The 10 Senior League 1 clubs will play each other once for the Robinson Services Trophy as well as a knock out competition for the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Trophy.

Senior Leagues 2 and 3 are completely reorganised with the 12 clubs divided into three groups of four to compete for the Robinson Services Bowl.

The teams will play each other home and away with the group winners and the best runner-up proceeding to the semi-finals.

The three groups are:

  • Group A: Cooke Collegians, Laurelvale, Lurgan, Victoria
  • Group B: Ards, Bangor, Donaghadee, Holywood
  • Group C: BISC, Dunmurry, Dundrum, Drumaness Super Kings.

There will be no Gallagher Senior Challenge this year but the company will sponsor the women's Challenge Cup.

Saturday's opening fixtures are:

Premier League: CIYMS v CSNI; Instonians v Waringstown; Lisburn v Woodvale; North Down v Carrickfergus.

Senior League 1: Armagh v Derriaghy; Ballymena v Saintfield; Cregagh v Cliftonville Academy; Donacloney Mill v Downpatrick; Muckamore v Templepatrick.

Senior League 2/3: Group A: Lurgan v Laurelvale; Cooke Collegians v Victoria Group B: Holywood v Bangor; Donaghadee v Ards Group C: BISC v Drumaness Super Kings; Dundrum v Dunmurry.