ENGLAND have named a 24-man training group from which the teams for the one-day international series against Ireland at the end of the month will be selected.

Led by Eoin Morgan - he is one of five survivors from the team which faced Ireland at Malahide last year – it includes Johnny Bairstow and Moeen Ali who were dropped from the Test match squad currently facing West Indies.

James Vince, David Willey, Tom Curran and Adil Rashid, along with Morgan are all likely to face Ireland again but Dawid Malan, who opened the batting with Vince last year, is injured. Joe Root, Joe Denly and Jofra Archer are all on Test match duty, Bairstow replaces Ben Foakes as wicket keeper and Liam Plunkett has been excluded.

There are seven uncapped players in the group – although unlikely to play in the ODIs – which move into the bio-secure Ageus Bowl venue at Southampton next Thursday and will play two intra-squad practice games on July 21 and 24. The group will also make up the England Lions squad which will face Ireland in their final warm-up game on July 26.

Chairman of selectors Ed Smith said that the group was a mixture of youth and experience but they would be looking for a balance to win the games.

“We are preparing for the future but not taking our eye of the here and now,” he added. “Even with several multi-format players unavailable for the ODIs due to their Test commitments, there is real depth to England’s white ball playing talent.” England begin a three-match Test series against Pakistan in Manchester the day after the final ODI in Southampton on August 4.

England training group: E Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, J Bairstow, T Banton, S Billings, H Brookes, B Carse, T Curran, L Dawson, B Duckett, L Evans, R Gleeson, L Gregory, S Hain, T Helm, L Livingstone, S Mahmood, M Parkinson, A Rashid, J Roy, P Salt, R Topley, J Vince, D Willey.