Curtis Campher and JJ Garth are the two uncapped players named in a 21-man Ireland training squad ahead of the three-match ODI series against England later this month.

Campher is a 21 year-old Irish passport holding South African, who attends Tuks University in Pretoria.

He made his debut in Irish colours this February when he impressed in four matches against Namibia in his home city, scoring 45, 54 and an unbeaten 62.

The former South African U19 international all-rounder qualifies for his Irish passport through his grandmother.

He had agreed to play this summer in the Leinster league with YMCA before the Covid-19 pandemic disrupted his plans.

JJ Garth is a 19 year-old leg-break bowler from Pembroke, whose sister Kim, as well as parents Johnny and Anne-Marie have all played senior internationals.

(JJ Garth and Josh Little)

There are recalls for his Sydney Parade team-mate Josh Little, as well as Malahide paceman Peter Chase.

Also returning to the squad after injury is CIYMS all-rounder Mark Adair who burst onto the international scene in such dramatic style in 2019.

There is no place in the extended squad however for Stuart Thompson or Shane Getkate - the only centrally contracted players omitted, while Clontarf speedster David Delany wasn't considered following his knee operation.

“We’re delighted that our top wicket-taker in 2019, Mark Adair, returns after recovering from ankle surgery, and feel we have the right squad balance for these important fixtures – keeping in mind that they are World Cup qualifiers," said Chairman of Selectors Andrew White. 

“While a number of players like Stuart Thompson and Shane Getkate are unfortunate to not to be travelling, the experience that will be gained on this trip by a number of the younger players will be invaluable in their development.

"Additionally, David Delany was not considered for selection this time. As a result of his previous surgery, and the subsequent extended lockdown period, we were not fully confident that he has had the time to complete the necessary amount of preparation in order to safely play in these matches.”

Following the training sessions and two warm-up matches as part of the tour schedule, Selectors will then name a final 14-man squad for the series. The remaining seven players will stay on as cover, given the protocols around the bio-secure venue and playing conditions. 

IRELAND 21-man squad:

Andrew Balbirnie (capt) (Pembroke), Paul Stirling (vc), (North Down) Mark Adair (CIYMS), Curtis Campher (YMCA), Peter Chase, (Malahide), Gareth Delany (Leinster), George Dockrell (Leinster), Jonathan Garth (Pembroke) , Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Josh Little, (Pembroke), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Barry McCarthy (Pembroke), James McCollum (Waringstown), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), William Porterfield (Formby), Boyd Rankin (Lisburn), Simi Singh (YMCA), Harry Tector (YMCA), Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke), Gary Wilson (CSNI), Craig Young (North Down).