Hoofdklasse club Hermes-DVS Schiedam has joined the ranks of Dutch clubs organising internal tournaments as the cricket community waits for a government go-ahead for nationally-based competitions.

The Hermes Premier League will run alongside competitions which have already started at Amsterdam clubs VVV and Qui Vive, Concordia Delft and Kampong Utrecht, which is actually holding both a ‘competitive’ and a ‘recreational’ league.

The four-team competition is scheduled to get under way on 3 July, and although the teams’ names have not yet been announced, the club has already published the squads of fourteen.

The four captains are all well-established first-teamers – Nick Statham, Zaffar Chaudhary, Loki Bohri and Sebastiaan Braat – and their squads are notable not only for their mix of younger players and seasoned veterans, but for the inclusion of former stalwarts of Hermes’ now-defunct women’s section.

The latter, indeed, include no fewer than seven Dutch women’s internationals: Marloes Braat, Carlijn de Groot, Mandy Kornet, Mariska Kornet, Denise Prins, Cher van Slobbe, and current player Lisa Klokgieters, who now turns out for neighbours Excelsior ’20.

The T20 competition will be played at Hermes’s Sportpark Harga complex.