The world may be locked down and at a standstill, but Dutch national coach Ryan Campbell and his team of coaches have announced their summer training squads, so that they can be ready to get going as soon as the current restrictions are lifted.

The squads are named in three groups: seventeen Dutch-based players in the main senior squad; a further ten who have contracts in England; and an Academy Squad of nine who will, presumably, be candidates for a potential A-team along with the more marginal players from the senior outfit.

There are few surprises in Campbell’s senior selections: 23 of the 27 named were among the 25 who featured in the national side at some point during 2019.

Those left out this time are HBS batsman and occasional off-spinner Wesley Barresi, who is currently unavailable, and young HCC allrounder Hidde Overdijk.

Seamer Logan van Beek, who has signed for VRA Amsterdam this season and who made the last of his 16 appearances for the Netherlands in 2017, returns to the squad after a successful season in New Zealand, where he claimed 37 wickets across all three formats and helped Wellington to claim the first-class Plunket Shield title and the T20 Super Smash.

He is joined in the Dutch-based squad by three potential debutants: opening batsman Adam Wiffen, who transferred from HCC to VRA over the winter, and two spinners in HBS left-armer Julian de Mey and VRA off-spinner Leon Turmaine.

Those who share Campbell’s (and the KNCB’s) aim of a more Dutch-produced national side will be particularly interested in the selection of the Academy squad, all but one of whom have learned their cricket in the Netherlands.

The exception is Kampong’s New Zealand-born quick man Alex Roy, who had a good year in the Hoofdklasse in 2019 and who made one appearance for the Seafarers in the early-season regional series.

His Kampong team-mate Pierre Jacod, the most successful of the Dutch bowlers in last year’s Under-19 side, has earned a chance in this development squad, as has Rens van Troost, the sole representative of Topklasse champions Excelsior ’20 in any of the three lists.

Another pace bowler to make the cut is Sparta 1888’s Max Hoornweg, who created a brief sensation by taking seven for 36 against Excelsior early last season; he is the grandson of former Dutch quick bowler Ruud Onstein.

Among the batsmen, Shirase Rasool (who has moved from ACC to Amstelveen neighbours VRA) and the HCC pair Boris Gorlee and Musa Nadeem (the latter another winter transfer from Hoofdklasse side Groen en Wit) all get their chance; the Academy group is completed by Hermes-DVS allrounder Olivier Elenbaas and off-spinner Arnav Jain (yet another who has changed clubs in 2020, moving from Rood en Wit Haarlem to VOC Rotterdam).

The full squads are:
Summer Squad:
Pieter Seelaar (VOC), Logan van Beek (VRA), Sebastiaan Braat (Hermes-DVS), Ben Cooper (VRA), Scott Edwards (VOC), Clayton Floyd (HCC), Vivian Kingma (VCC), Julian de Mey (HBS), Stephan Myburgh (Punjab), Max O’Dowd (VOC), Tonny Staal (HCC), Vikram Singh (VRA), Leon Turmaine (VRA), Tobias Visée (HBS), Adam Wiffen (VRA), Saqib Zulfiqar (Punjab), Sikander Zulfiqar (Punjab).

Summer Squad – Overseas:
Colin Ackermann (Leicestershire), Philippe Boissevain (MCC Young Cricketers), Ryan ten Doeschate (Essex), Brandon Glover (Northamptonshire), Timm van der Gugten (Glamorgan), Fred Klaassen (Kent), Bas de Leede (MCC YC), Paul van Meekeren (Cutthorpe CC), Roelof van der Merwe (Somerset), Shane Snater (Essex).

Academy Squad:
Olivier Elenbaas (Hermes-DVS), Boris Gorlee (HCC), Max Hoornweg (Sparta 1888), Pierre Jacod (Kampong), Arnav Jain (VOC), Musa Nadeem (HCC), Rens van Troost (Excelsior ’20), Shirase Rasool (VRA), Alex Roy (Kampong).