Another Leinster Cup triumph for YMCA

Ger Siggins, 5 August 2001

YMCA claimed the Conqueror Leinster Senior Cup for the eighth time since 1984 with a 47 run win over CYM at Castle Avenue. It was CY's first appearance in the cup final and although they came off second best, it will surely be sooner rather than later that the Terenure club claims its first senior trophy. The game was forced into a second day by the usual heavy rain that heralds the August bank holiday weekend.

YMCA won the toss and spent Saturday dodging showers on the way to recording 211 for nine. Kiwi Matt Broadmore went early, but Carl Hosford and Chris Cruikshank took the score to 84-1 at lunch and when they were separated at 95 by CYM captain Thomas they had added 73 for the second wicket.

Like Australia, YMCA possess a formidable, experienced middle order, but it was 16 year old all-rounder Conor Kelly who blunted their potent threat after coming on in the 39th over. Having removed Cruikshank lbw for 47, he then accounted in one crowded hour for Angus Dunlop (caught behind for 14), Alan Lewis (held on the boundary by sub fielder Kevin Kerrigan for 19), Stuart McCready (caught by Willie Dwyer for 10) and John Hoey (caught by Michael Lax for one).

South African Byron Esterhuizen chipped in with a couple of wickets to leave the Sandymount club reeling on 173-9 before a crucial partnership of 37 between former international Stewart Taylor (18 not out) and Kiwi Shay O'Gorman (8 not out). Kelly finished with figures of 11-1-49-5 but four other CYM bowlers had economical returns of less than three an over.

Torrential rain after tea ensured the sides would have to return on Sunday at 2pm. That time arrived with the sun high in the sky and when openers Rob Carroll and Davie Van Der Walt raced past fifty within ten overs the omens were good for CYM. However a spectacular direct hit by Alan Lewis accounted for the South African and his departure heralded a mini collapse. The left arm spin of Taylor accounted for three scalps and CYM were soon 82-6 after 25 overs.

Enter Conor Kelly, whose departure to play for the Ireland Under 17s at Eton was delayed to allow him to finish the final, and who gave CY supporters much to cheer as he put on more than 50 with Colm Morgan. A series of fluent boundaries perhaps induced some light-headedness as, on 29, he picked the wrong ball to launch skywards and Lewis ran around from backward square to gather the ball on the midwicket boundary. The jig of delight - not Lewie's first in a cup final, mind you - was worthy of Michael Flatley.

Morgan, sporting a splint and strapping on two fingers after a recent break, was only passed fit the day before the final. He dispelled all fear about his condition with a fluent display behind the stumps, where he took three catches and a stumping, and batted with comfort as YM's bowlers flagged. Coming in number eight, he made an unbeaten 21 before running out of partners.

The game was overshadowed by the tragic death of Leinster Cricket Union president-elect Aidan Dempsey on Thursday, and his passing was marked with a minute's silence before the game, the flying of the flags at half-mast and a moving tribute by LCU president Tom Prior. It was also the first senior final since the death of John Dawson over the winter and it is as much testament to what he has left in place that the event ran as smoothly as it always has.

Matt Dwyer selected Chris Cruikshank as man of the match for his 47 and 12-2-19-1, but Stewart Taylor would have run him close with his 12-3-23-3 and that late partnership that ensured the game was just beyond the reach of CYM.

Played at Castle Avenue, Clontarf on 4th,5th August 2001.
Toss: Y.M.C.A..        
Result: Y.M.C.A. won by 46 runs.
Umpires: S.Daultrey; R.O'Reilly.
MATCH OVERS:  60 overs.

M.Broadmore          c Morgan b Lax            19
C.Hosford            st Morgan b Thomas        36
C.Cruickshank        lbw b Kelly               47
A.R.Dunlop           c Morgan b Kelly          14
D.A.Lewis            c sub (Kerrigan) b Kelly  19
S.R.McCready *       c Dwyer b Kelly           10
J.Hoey               c Lax b Kelly              1
S.M.Taylor           not out                   18
S.Wilson-Moore       b Esterhuizen              1
D.Butler +           b Esterhuizen              0
S.O'Gorman           not out                    8
Extras               (LB 11; W 22; NB 4)       37
TOTAL                9 wickets (closed)       210
from  60 overs
1st inns: 1-22  2-95  3-132 4-134 5-161
          6-168 7-171 8-173 9-173

                      O       M     R     W
Lax                  11       1    29     1
Esterhuizen          12       1    32     2
O'Neill               4       0    23     0
Carroll              10       2    34     0
Thomas               12       2    32     1
Kelly                11       1    49     5

D.Van Der Walt       run out (Lewis)           34
R.Flanagan           c Butler b Taylor         23
M.Lax                c Lewis b Taylor           6
B.Thomas *           c Hoey b Taylor            0
B.Esterhuizen        b Cruickshank              3
C.Kelly              c Lewis b Dunlop          29
W.Dwyer              run out (Dunlop)           0
C.Morgan +           not out                   21
R.Whitney            b McCready                 0
T.O'Neill            lbw b McCready             4
R.Carroll            c Butler b Dunlop          5
Extras               (LB 7; W 27; NB 5)        39
TOTAL                                         164
from 51 overs
1st inns: 1-51  2-64  3-64  4-70  5-81
          6-82  7-140 8-140 9-151 10-164

                      O       M     R     W
McCready             12       2    51     2
Wilson-Moore          4       0    24     0
Cruickshank          12       3    21     1
Taylor               12       3    23     3
Dunlop               10       0    37     2
O'Gorman              1       0     1     0

Man of the Match C.Cruickshank (YMCA)