Kevin O'Brien's last gasp six sealed Ireland's first win in a T20I against Afghanistan for seven years in a Super Over thriller in Greater Noida.

With three needed from the final ball, O'Brien hit Rashid Khan over long-off to spark celebrations in the Irish camp.

Rashid's last over heroics in the main match had taken the game to the extra over, as he hit Josh Little for a six from the fourth ball and a four from the last.

Defending what looked a below par 142, Gareth Delany and Simi Singh each took two wickets in an over, while Barry McCarthy, Josh Little and Craig Young all bowled well to keep the Irish in the contest.

Delany earlier top scored with 37 in the Irish innings, sharing a stand of 62 in 41 balls with O'Brien (26) who pipped the Leinster all-rounder to the Man of the Match award.

They rebuilt the Irish innings after the loss of Paul Stirling in the first over and skipper Andy Balbirnie fell cheaply too.

YMCA's Harry Tector continued his decent run on tour as he hit 31 from 22 balls, including two sixes.

Debutant Qais Ahmed and Naveen Ul-Haq each picked up three wickets for the hosts.

Afghanistan looked in control as openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz (42 off 29 balls) and Usman Ghani (18 off 24 balls) shared an opening stand of 60 and at that stage the Asian side were 1/33 on with the bookies.

The contest turned as Delany accounted for both in the space of three balls with identical dismissals - holing out to Harry Tector at deep midwicket.

The recalled McCarthy (1-21) dismissed Janat, and with Simi Singh coming back well from early tap, Ireland were suddenly right back in it.

Young impressed and Little almost got Ireland over the line in the last over before Rashid's lusty blows.

North Down's Craig Young was entrusted with the Super Over and did well to concede just 8, which looked very gettable, and even more so when a single and boundary off the first two balls reduced the equation to 4 off 4.

It swung back as Stirling was trapped lbw, followed by a single from the next two balls. However, O'Brien had the final say to end the Irish woes and finish the tour on a winning note.

It was a fitting farewell to stand-in coach Rob Cassell, who is leaving Ireland for a role in the IPL.

Ireland are in action next month when they travel to Zimbabwe for a six match white-ball tour.

Ireland Vs Afghanistan
1-Innings T20 Match Played At Greater Noida, India, 10-Mar-2020, Twenty20 International
Ireland Win by 1 wkts

Round 1002
Toss won by Ireland
Umpires Bismillah Shinwari (Afg) - Ahmed Shah Pakteen (Afg) - Izatullah Safi (Afg)
Umpire notes Match ref: Sir R Richardson. Tv Ump: Ahmed Shah Durrani
Home Side (neutral)
Player of Match KJ O'Brien
Comment 1002/52
Match tied :- Super over: Ireland won the one-over eliminator)
Afghanistan 8-0 (1 over). Ireland 12-1 (1 over)
Afghanistan won the 3-match series 2-1
Rahmanullah Gurbaz was the Man of the Series

Ireland 1st Innings 142/8 Closed (Overs 20)

Batsman Fieldsman Bowler Runs Bls 4s 6s
PR Stirling c Mohammad Nabi b Naveen-ul-Haq 0 4 0 0
KJ O'Brien c Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Qais Ahmad 26 21 4 0
A Balbirnie*   b Naveen-ul-Haq 9 6 2 0
GJ Delany c Mohammad Nabi b Rashid Khan 37 29 5 1
HT Tector c Najibullah Zadran b Qais Ahmad 31 22 1 2
LJ Tucker+   b Mujeeb Ur Rahman 9 10 1 0
SC Getkate c Najibullah Zadran b Qais Ahmad 5 10 0 0
Simi Singh not out   12 9 1 0
BJ McCarthy c Rashid Khan b Naveen-ul-Haq 0 2 0 0
CA Young not out   7 7 1 0
J Little dnb          
extras   (b0 lb3 w3 nb0) 6      
TOTAL   8 wickets for 142      
1-0(PR Stirling) 2-12(A Balbirnie) 3-74(KJ O'Brien) 4-80(GJ Delany)
5-106(LJ Tucker) 6-122(HT Tector) 7-122(SC Getkate) 8-123(BJ McCarthy)
Bowler Overs Maid Runs Wkts wd nb
Naveen-ul-Haq 4 0 21 3 1 -
Mujeeb Ur Rahman 4 0 32 1 - -
Karim Janat 2 0 17 0 1 -
Qais Ahmad 4 0 25 3 - -
Rashid Khan 4 0 24 1 - -
Gulbadin Naib 2 0 20 0 1 -

Afghanistan 1st Innings 142/7 Closed (Overs 20)

Batsman Fieldsman Bowler Runs Bls 4s 6s
Rahmanullah Gurbaz+ c HT Tector b GJ Delany 42 29 3 3
Usman Ghani c HT Tector b GJ Delany 18 24 2 0
Karim Janat   b BJ McCarthy 17 11 1 1
Asghar Afghan* c A Balbirnie b J Little 32 30 2 1
Mohammad Nabi c KJ O'Brien b Simi Singh 4 8 0 0
Najibullah Zadran lbw b Simi Singh 0 1 0 0
Gulbadin Naib   b CA Young 10 11 1 0
Rashid Khan not out   14 6 1 1
Qais Ahmad not out   0 0 0 0
Mujeeb Ur Rahman dnb          
Naveen-ul-Haq dnb          
extras   (b0 lb1 w4 nb0) 5      
TOTAL   7 wickets for 142      
1-60(Rahmanullah Gurbaz) 2-60(Usman Ghani) 3-92(Karim Janat) 4-100(Mohammad Nabi)
5-100(Najibullah Zadran) 6-124(Gulbadin Naib) 7-130(Asghar Afghan)
Bowler Overs Maid Runs Wkts wd nb
GJ Delany 4 0 21 2 - -
BJ McCarthy 4 0 21 1 - -
Simi Singh 4 0 37 2 - -
J Little 4 0 33 1 - -
CA Young 4 0 29 1 - -