Cricket Ireland has announced the 14-player squad that will travel to India to play a three-match men’s T20 International series against Afghanistan in Greater Noida, India next month.

The only change from the T20I squad that travelled to the Caribbean in January is Shane Getkate coming in for Mark Adair who has been left out of the squad to work on his fitness and conditioning, as well as to manage an ongoing ankle injury.

The three matches are scheduled for:

Friday 6 March at 12.30pm GMT
Sunday 8 March at 8.30am GMT
Tuesday 10 March at 8.30am GMT

The 14-player squad named is:

Andrew Balbirnie (capt) (Pembroke)
Gareth Delany (Leinster)
George Dockrell (Leinster)
Shane Getkate (Instonians)
Josh Little (Pembroke)
Barry McCarthy (Pembroke)
Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union)
Boyd Rankin (NW Warriors)
Simi Singh (YMCA)
Paul Stirling (Northern Knights)
Harry Tector (YMCA)
Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke)
Gary Wilson (CSNI)
Craig Young. (North Down)

Chairman of Selectors Andrew White,said:

“With the T20 World Cup approaching in October, the Selectors are looking to provide an opportunity for players to test themselves in various conditions, while Graham Ford searches for the right combinations and tactics that we will take into the World Cup.

“The squad that performed so well in the recent West Indies series will get another opportunity to show what they can offer, against familiar but formidable opponents in this format of the game.

“While it is unfortunate Mark Adair will not be travelling, this opens up an opportunity for Shane Getkate, who missed out on the Caribbean tour.

“We are confident that we have selected a well-balanced side, but we will be looking for greater consistency as the year progresses. The last tour gave us an insight into this Irish side’s potential - by beating the World Champions in their own backyard, but there is no doubt the players will be keen to show those performances on a more regular basis.”