The selection in Ireland squads this week of Mike Frost and Curtis Campher has led to much debate among the cricketing fraternity as to the wisdom of including players who have yet to set foot on Irish soil.

On the face of it, the move appears to be an admission that the current crop of talent isn't good enough, forcing the coaches and selectors to cast the net wider in an attempt to lure the Irish diaspora to these shores.

For some fans, it appears this is a welcome divergence from the rigid pathways structures that appeared to have prevented talents like Nick Larkin and Craig Ervine being made more welcome here.

For others it's a slap in the face to young players who have been leapfrogged in the system by outsiders with little or no affinity to Ireland.

The reality is that Ireland has always relied on overseas talent to bolster their playing pool, although the granting of contracts to Frost and Campher before they have played here is a definite switch of tactic.

I've had a look at the players who have won caps in the past 20 seasons, making their debuts from 2001 onwards.

I have classified a player as local if they played youth cricket for  or in Ireland, so players like the Poynters are considered locals ,as is Shane Getkate despite not being born here.

In that period there have been 73 caps awarded, with the biggest proportion learning their cricket overseas.

27 came from overseas - 37% - with most following the pattern of arriving as professionals, meeting a local girl, settling and qualifying for Ireland.

Among the 27 are some of the finest to play for Ireland, Trent Johnston, Jeremy Bray, Andre Botha, and Alex Cusack.

The number is somewhat inflated by the inclusion of six players hired to play in the ECB limited overs competition as hired guns - Jessie Ryder, Ravi Rampaul, Nantie Hayward, Johan Botha, Saqlain Mushtaq and Shahid Afridi.

What then of the local unions?

No surprise perhaps that Leinster provides the next highest, with 23 of the 73, the same number as the NCU (12) and the NW (11) combined.

From Conor Armstrong in 2001 through to Harry Tector last year, the Dublin region has been to the forefront of producing young talent.

For the record, the other 21 from the region are John Mooney, Niall O'Brien, Eoin Morgan, Kevin O'Brien, Kenny Carroll, Roger Whelan, Fintan McAllister, Andrew Poynter, George Dockrell, Andrew Balbirnie, Allan Eastwood, Stuart Poynter, Eddie Richardson, Peter Chase, Tyrone Kane, Barry McCarthy, Lorcan Tucker, Josh Little, Shane Getkate, Gareth Delany and David Delany.

The NCU ended a somewhat barren run - overseas players apart - last season when Mark Adair and James McCollum donned the shamrock sweater.

The talented pair look set for long runs on the international stage, with Adair getting a place in all formats, and McCollum playing in ODI's and Tests.

The other ten capped since 2001 from the region are David Kennedy, Gary Kidd, Greg Thompson, Mark Hutchinson, Gary Wilson, Paul Stirling, James Hall, Gavin McKenna, Rory McCann and the recently retired James Shannon.

The NW have produced 11 in that time although it has been almost five years since the last from the region - David Rankin of Bready in 2015.

The other ten are Jordan McGonigle, Boyd Rankin, William Porterfield, Phil Eaglestone, Andy Britton, Graeme McCarter, Chris Dougherty, Stuart Thompson, Andy McBrine and Craig Young.

Spare a though though for Munster, who haven't had a senior representative in that time, and little sign of that ending anytime soon.

As with all these things it's a question of balance. Nobody will have any qualms with the introduction of a few quality passport holders if they strengthen the playing pool.

Let us hope this proves to be the case.