TWO of the North West’s longest serving – and still active – players were inducted into the union’s Hall of Fame last night.

Junior McBrine, still playing for Donemana II and Nigel Thompson, still playing and coaching at Eglinton, were honoured at last night’s North West Awards Dinner.

Both fathers of current internationals, McBrine (56) played 35 times for Ireland between 1985 and 1994 and in a 40-year career with Donemana won a staggering 18 league titles, including a record nine a row from 1985, while Thompson (55), the father of Stuart, won 18 caps between 1988 and 1992 and took wickets in his each of his first 11 internationals.

The Club Person of the Year went to popular Donemana man, Robert (Lofty) McGonigle while Eglinton’s Tommy Orr was named Young Player of the Year.

League and cup double winners Brigade dominated the Premiership individual awards with Gareth McKeegan receiving the Michael Bannigan trophy for the Player of the year while club captain Andy Britton received the Radio Foyle Player of the Year.

The Premier Division batting award went to David Barr after scoring 932 runs at an average of 46.5, including two 100s and four 50s and the bowling award went to Jonny Robinson who took 42 wickets at just 14.1.

The individual winners in the Championship were Killyclooney’s Giles Moan (batting) and Ardmore’s Jarred Wilson (bowling). Burndennett’s Leanne Brandon was the top women’s bowler and Sarah Black from Fox Lodge won the batting award.

Other awards: Warriors Player of the Year: Graham Hume; Women’s Inter-pro: Sarah Black; Girls inter-pro: Zara Craig; Jack Glenn Youth Player: Scott MacBeth (St Johnston); Coach of the Year: Mark Olphert; Harry Henderson Fair Play Award: Jamie McIntrye (Fox Lodge)