Ireland's Kevin O'Brien has become the 14th cricketer to score a century in all three formats of the game.

He joins an illustrious group which includes such greats as Chris Gayle and Brendon McCollum.


  • Chris Gayle (West Indies)
  • Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
  • Suresh Raina (India)
  • Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
  • Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)
  • Martin Guptill (New Zealand)
  • Ahmed Shehzad (Pakistan)
  • Faf du Plessis (South Africa)
  • Rohit Sharma (India)
  • Shane Watson (Australia)
  • Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)
  • Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
  • KL Rahul (India)
  • Kevin O’Brien (Ireland)

In 2019, O’Brien has scored 583 runs from an incredible 353 balls in 14 innings, an average of 41.64 and a strike rate of 165.16.

This is currently the fourth highest number of runs in a calendar year in T20I cricket history, and he still has potentially eight to ten more matches to play before the end of the calendar year. 

“It’s obviously a very proud moment to score the first T20I century for Ireland," said O'Brien.

"I'm very happy with the way it's turning out since moving to the top of the order, and hopefully the form can continue for the next 2 to 3 weeks leading into the World Cup Qualifier.”

Ireland has one more T20 International to play in Oman against Nepal tomorrow, before heading to Abu Dhabi where they will compete in the T20 World Cup Qualifier.