Ryan Hopkins powered Pembroke to the Leinster Premiership title as they edged out holders Merrion by one wicket in a thriller at Anglesea Road.

Chasing 191, Pembroke were in last chance saloon at 165 for 9, but Hopkins in conjunction with Irish international Josh Little got the 26 needed to clinch the title.

He had come to the wicket at 110 for 6 - soon to be 112 for 7 as Merrion looked to be well on top.

Hopkins though had other ideas as he hit 5 fours and 2 sixes in an unbeaten 54 to spark wild celebrations among the Sydney Parade faithful.

The Pembroke chase had started in sedate fashion at 40 for 0 in 11 overs before James Groom sparked a collapse - gaining three lbw verdicts to reduced them to 44 for 4, with the Balbirnie and Tucker brothers back in the pavilion.

Shaheen Khan (44) and Theo Lawson (17) shared a stand of 55 to get the innings back on track, before both they and Barry McCarthy fell in quick succession to leave Pembroke struggling.

Hopkins found a steady partner in JJ Garth (15) as they added 43 for the 8th wicket and while Paul Lawson went soon after, Hopkins' clean hitting was just what Pembroke required,

Earlier it was the familiar solidity of John Anderson who had led Merrion to 190.

He top scored with 64, adding 63 for the 7th wicket with Sean Stanton who made 24 to lead a recovery from a precarious 106 for 6.

Shaheen Khan (3-37) was the pick of the attack, while there were two wickets each for Barry McCarthy, Jack Balbirnie and JJ Garth.

A great end then to the season for Pembroke, adding the league title to their Irish Senior Cup success two weeks ago.

A young side which promised so much is now delivering.