All the talk may have been about CIYMS and their challengers North Down but Carrickfergus have put together a string of six wins in a row that takes them to joint second, for tonight anyway, with North Down.

Marc Ellison top scored for the Stormont side as the twin off-spinners, Ryan Eagleson and CJ van der Walt each claimed 3 wickets as CSNI could only total 111 bowled out with three balls of their allocation unused.

And it was van der Walt who saw the Cowboys home with an over to spare as he scored 41* in partnership with Richard Hood (30*), better known for his exploits with the ball, to win what was for them a sixth league match in a row.

In what was the only 50 over Match 1 of the day Instonians inflicted only the second defeat of the year on CIYMS who failed to chase the visitors' 201.
Shane Getkate (51) top scoring, with thirties from Robert McKinley and Murray Commins.
The CIYMS reply got off to a slow start and at drinks they were 86/3 with skipper Nigel Jones and Jacob Mulder at the crease.
But before another 10 was added, both were gone and it was left to Ryan Hunter (31) and James Cameron-Dow (27) to add 44 before a mix up ended with JCD run out.

Sixty one off the last ten overs with only 4 wickets left was to prove to be too much of a task and they managed only 40 of them before the overs ran out.

Only the second league defeat of the season for the Belmont side who tomorrow (Sunday) travel to Comber for a table top clash.
The title will not be decided tomorrow but it will take a win for the home side to realistically maintain their hopes of the crown.


CSNI (0) lost to Carrickfergus (4) by 7 wickets, Stormont, 7 September.
CSNI 111 (19.3 overs, M Ellison 31, C Goodall 26, R Eagleson 3-15, CJ van der Walt 3-22, R Hood 2-17)
Carrickfergus 113-3 (19.0 overs, CJ van der Walt 41*, R Hood 30*, J Holmes 26)

CIYMS lost to Instonians by 21 runs, Belmont, 7 September.
Instonians 201 (50.0 overs, S Getkate 51, R McKinley 39, M Commins 34, J van der Merwe 3-20, D Robinson 3-42)
CIYMS 180-9 (50.0 overs, N Jones 32, J Mulder 32, R Hunter 31, J Manley 2-26, Nikolai Smith 2-32)

Muckamore lost to Waringstown by 1 run, Moylena, 7 September.
Waringstown 146-7 (20.0 overs, G Thompson 33, M McClean 28, A Dennison 26, Haseeb Azam 26, P Karthik 2-22, S Henderson 2-27)
Muckamore 145-8 (20.0 overs, S Lazars 56, S Gordon 25, K McCallan 3-22, L Nelson 2-30)