Waringstown will be aiming for a magnificent seventh triumph in the Lagan Valley Steels T20 Cup final as they taken on arch rivals CIYMS in the decider at The Lawn tomorrow (FRI) at 5pm.

They have dominated the competition in recent years, winning the last three, and also going on to claim the All-Ireland T20 crown in 2018.

They go into the game without two of their main performers, with James McCollum on Ireland Test duty and Kyle McCallan also attending the game as part of the SKY commentary team.

“This is a competition that we’ve really enjoyed since its inception, and been fortunate enough to experience a lot of success in the last few years,” said skipper Greg Thompson. “Hopefully we can continue that run of form on Friday.

“CIYMS are a good team and are in excellent form, however their one loss this season was in the group stages of this competition to us so we can take confidence from that and we’ll hope to repeat that result,” added the Irish international.

“Either way it should be a good game to watch and hopefully there’ll be a big crowd for what has been the biggest turn out in NCU cricket in recent years.”

CIYMS are also missing key personnel for the game, with Mark Adair playing in the Test, while Trevor Britton, James Beattie, and Ryan Hunter are all absent.

Skipper Nigel Jones is upbeat ahead of the clash, with the side in excellent form, having reach the final of the Gallagher NCU Senior Cup and semi-final of the Irish Senior Cup last weekend.

“We have certainly played some good cricket to get us here and it’s now about enjoying the occasion that a final brings,” said Jones.

“Unfortunately we’ve been hit with a couple of late withdrawals from our team due to work commitments and injury. However that also presents an opportunity for a couple of our club youth players to experience the excitement of a cup final.

“We are undoubtedly excited for the challenge which Waringstown presents and we look forward to putting on a strong performance against them.”

This is the 15th year of the NCU T20 Trophy with the previous winners being Waringstown (6), North Down (4), CIYMS (2), CSNI (1) and Lisburn (1).

WARINGSTOWN (from); Adam Dennison, James Hall, Lee Nelson, Greg Thompson (capt), Marcus McLean, Haseeb Azam, David Dawson, James Hunter, Gary Kidd, James Mitchell, Phil Eaglestone, Matthew Daly, Matthew Purse.

CIYMS: Chris Dougherty, John Matchett, Obus Pienaar, Jason van der Merwre, Nigel Jones (capt), Jacob Mulder, James Cameron-Dow, Allen Coulter, David Robinson, Carson McCullough, Zac Solomon.