There are 14 included in the Ireland squad that will play England in an historic Test at Lords later this month.

William Porterfield skippers the side for the four-day contest which gets under way on Wednesday July 24th.

There will be a battle to see who wears the gloves with Gary Wilson and Lorcan Tucker both named. Stuart Poynter kept in the Test against Afghanistan in India this year, but he isn't included.

Andy McBrine and Simi Singh are the preferred spin options, with Paul Stirling as back-up, but George Dockrell misses out along with James Cameron-Dow, who both played last time.

With seam likely to play a major part, the Irish selectors have gone for Boyd Rankin, Mark Adair, and in-form Tim Murtagh, getting the opportunity to play on his home turf.

Craig Young gets the nod, as does Stuart Thompson who impressed in the inaugural Test against Pakistan last May.

Andy Balbirnie, Kevin O'Brien, and openers Paul Stirling and James McCollum complete the lucky fourteen selected.

Ireland are hoping to get some much needed red-ball practice and game time at Merchant Taylors School after most of the opening two interpro Championship matches were lost to the weather.


  • William Porterfield (capt) (Formby)
  • Mark Adair (CIYMS)
  • Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke)
  • Andy McBrine (Donemana)
  • James McCollum (Waringstown)
  • Tim Murtagh (Middlesex)
  • Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union)
  • Boyd Rankin (Moseley)
  • Paul Stirling (Middlesex)
  • Simi Singh (Phoenix)
  • Stuart Thompson (Eglinton)
  • Lorcan Tucker (Pembroke)
  • Gary Wilson (CSNI)
  • Craig Young (North Down)