There’s a thin line between success and failure and that was never more in evidence at Malahide with holders Waringstown squeaking through by two runs on DLS.

With the rain looming they were behind on the calculations, but Greg Thompson swooped to run out Cameron Shoebridge just as the rain started to fall, putting them just ahead.

The result was tough on Malahide opener Arjun Mentha who looked to be steering his side home, left stranded on 92 as the game was abandoned.

Earlier half centuries from Lee Nelson (77) and Thompson (75) as they added 117 for the fourth wicket allowed Waringstown to post 237 – it proved just to be enough.

The DLS print sheets were needed in three other games, with Merrion bowing out at CIYMS by 9 runs in an abbreviated game.

The game was first reduced to 30 overs per side and with only 30 from James Groom and 29 from the competition’s leading run scorer John Anderson, the Anglesea Road side looked well short at the half-way stage with only 134 for 9 – three wickets for Obus Pienaar and two apiece form Allen Coulter and Jacob Mulder.

CIYMS took a low risk approach with more showers hovering, always ensuring they were ahead of the game, and Chris Dougherty’s 31 not out sealed the win after two further interruptions saw the game finally abandoned with the home side on 74 for 1 after 17.2 overs.

Clontarf were perhaps the surprise losers of the day, going down by 15 runs on DLS at home to Carrickfergus. South African overseas professional Jacques Snyman hit 6 sixes and 6 fours in a 78-ball 107, sharing a 123 run stand with fellow countryman CJ van der Walt (49).

That allowed Carrick to post 255, but half centuries in a fourth wicket stand of 102 between Eoghan Delany (68*) and Andrew Vincent (53) looked to be setting up a tense finish before once again the elements intervened.

Pembroke were emphatic 165 run winners against The Hills, with Lorcan Tucker’s brilliant 126 setting up a formidable total of 328 for 6.

The Irish international hit 10 fours and 8 sixes in his 88-ball knock, sharing a third wicket stand of 174 with Theo Lawson (75), after Andy Balbirnie had hit 55.

The Hills’ reply never got really going, with only Bhavesh Lakhotia (62) among the runs – three wickets for Paul Lawson and two apiece for Gavin Hoey and Ryan Hopkins.

Leinster beat Strabane in a low scoring contest in Rathmines, as Bilal Azhar’s five-wicket haul saw them defend just 121.

Four wickets for Ryan Gallagher and three for Tommy Barr looked to have put Strabane in pole position. The chase started poorly, but 45 from Aaron Gillespie had Strabane sitting at 70 for 3, before the wheels came off as Azhar proved the match winner, with the Tyrone side 105 all out.

Bready also crashed out, ending NW interest in the competition, with Phoenix emphatic eight-wicket winners. Three wickets for Simi Singh, plus two apiece for Ben White, Matt Lunson and Anish Sidhu saw Bready dismissed for 156 – Irosh Samarasooriya top scoring with 48.

Phoenix wasted no time in racing to an eight-wicket win with Ben Beecroft hitting 16 fours in his 89 from 95 balls, while Adam Chester made an unbeaten 36 to seal the win just before the rain closed in.

Instonians were comfortable 120-run winners against Rush, never looking back after a century opening stand between Nikoai Smith (73) and teenager Ollie Metcalfe who made a run-a-ball 53. Murray Commins (48) and fellow South African Josh Manley (43) were also in the runs.

Manley clubbed four sixes in a whirlwind knock that got Inst to 283, and then captured four wickets as Rush were dismissed for 163 – South African overseas player Jurie Snyman top scoring with 67.

CSNI won the all-NCU clash at Comber edging out the home side by 15 runs in another rain-affected contest.

Once again it was a South African who provided the decisive contribution, with Andre Malan hitting 14 fours and 2 sixes in his 145 from 141 balls.

He shared stands of 67 for the second wicket with Marc Ellison (29) and 108 for the third with Gary Wilson (28) as they posted 244 for 6.

North Down were always just behind the rate, despite 58 from Ruhan Pretorius, and breezy cameos from Peter Eakin (36) and Craig Young (34). Hamilton Coulter (27*) and Carl Robinson (24) gave them hope with a stand of 49, but the run out of Robinson just before the final rain break sealed their fate – losing by 15 runs on DLS.

Five NCU and three LCU teams progress to the last eight, with ties to be played on Sunday July 14th.