Carrickfergus did a league double over Waringstown in 2018 so perhaps it was no great surprise that the villagers would find themselves in for a tough battle at Middle Road.

After only posting a much below par 180 the home side could have been excused for thinking it was a lost cause facing the formidable batting lineup that Waringstown possess.

For reaching even that low total Carrick were indebted to Alex Haggan (44*) who shared partnerships with Jamie Holmes (36) and Max Burton (23).

James Mitchell was in fine form as he claimed first Gilmour then Snyman and CJ van der Walt in his opening burst returning to add Matty McCord to his list and finishing with 4-42.

With James Hall and Adam Dennison putting on 49 before Hall was run out having been sent back by Dennison there was no hint of the drama to follow.

Nine wickets fell for 44 runs as the visitors crashed from 80-1 to 124 all out - the evergreen Eagleson with 5-21 in his 10 overs and Jacques Snyman 3-17 in his 10!

Waringstown still share top spot with CIYMS whose game was postponed but have played a game more and now lost their unbeaten record.

At Comber it was a pretty turgid affair Muckamore struggling to 171 the highlight being a mid order partnership of 61 between Sam Gordon and Steve Lazars, with Eakin (4-27) and Pretorius (4-24) cleaning up the tail between them.
Runs were equally difficult to come by for the home side and it was only a battling 51* by Stuart Nelson that kept the home side in it until 24* from Peter Eakin saw them 16 runs ahead on DLS as the game ended after 46 overs.

In Section One a 12 run DLS win for Ballymena meant that Woodvale were unable to extend their lead at the top of the table and were joined there by Derriaghy who demolished Templepatrick by 188 runs (DLS)

Michael Glass took 4-21 for Ballymena as Woodvale struggled to 134, Peter Bardgett (22) and Wayne Horwood (21) top scoring.
Ballymena claimed the points on DLS at 33 overs when they were 12 runs ahead of par Kaushik Aphale steering them home on 31*.

At Bangor Cregagh came out on top in another DLS match which saw them move off the bottom above Bangor.

Bangor scoring 139 thanks to 80 from Chris Burns while Craig Irvine 4-13, and Charlie Shannon 2-11 did the damage for Cregagh.
Two wickets also for Danny Cooper who scored 20 in the Cregagh chase which was led by Jonathan Moore (24) and Aaron Johnston (20) which saw the visitors to 132-7 at 45 overs which was enough for a 12 run (DLS) victory.

Big runs for Derriaghy at Queensway where they totalled 288-9 with Matthew Jennings (68), Curtis Moorehead (63*) and Craig Lewis (57) piling the woes on Templepatrick for whom John Busby, Michael Stewart, Ross Bryans and Callum Weir took two wickets each.

And it was the Moorehead/Lewis combination that saw off Templepatrick - Curtis with 5-15 and Craig Lewis 3-24 - as the visitors were bundled out for only 84 that included 37 from Mark Thompson.

Derriaghy join Woodvale at the top of Section One although the North Belfast side stay ahead on NRR having also played a game more.

Premier League:

North Down beat Muckamore by 16 runs. The Green, 8 June.
Muckamore 171 (48.5 overs, J Rogers 44, S Lazars 35; R Pretorius 4-24, P Eakin 4-27)
North Down 163-5 (46.0 overs, S Nelson 51*, N Burns 38; A Adey 2-33, S Lazars 2-38)
DLS Method: par score 147 in 46 overs.

Carrickfergus beat Waringstown by 47 runs. Middle Road, 8 June.
Carrickfergus 180 (47.3 overs, A Haggan 44*, J Holmes 36; J Mitchell 4-42, K McCallan 2-34, H Azam 2-39)
Waringstown 133 (42.1 overs, A Dennison 36, R Eagleson 5-20, J Snyman 3-17)

Section 1:

Bangor lost to Cregagh by 12 runs. Upritchard Park, 8 June.
Bangor 139 (C Burns 80; C Irvine 4-13, C Shannon 2-11, D Cooper 2-20)
Cregagh 132-7 (A Nixon 2-19, T Khan 2-28)
DLS Method: par score 120 in 45 overs.

Woodvale lost to Ballymena by 12 runs. Ballygomartin Road, 8 June.
Woodvale 134 (49.3 overs, M Glass 4-21; I Dick 2-48)
Ballymena 84-3 (33.0 overs, K Aphale 31; F Saeed 2-16)
DLS Method: par score 72 in 33 overs.

Derriaghy beat Templepatrick by 188 runs. Queensway, 8 June
Derriaghy 288-9 (M Jennings 68, C Moorhead 63no, C Lewis 57, R Malone 32; J Busby 2-28, M Stewart 2-32), R Bryans 2-59, C Weir 2-76)
Templepatrick 84 (M Thompson 37; C Moorhead 5-15, Lewis 3-24)
DLS Method: par score 272 in 45 overs.