Andrew White produced a vintage spell to claim four wickets as Instonians knocked North Down out of the Gallagher Senior Cup.

His haul included the prize scalp of Ruhan Pretorius and combined with three wickets for James Magee saw North Down manage just 85.

The modest total proved little trouble to Instonians - who had ceded home advantage in order to get the tie played - as new Wolves call-up Ollie Metcalfe hit 35 as they romped to an eight-wicket win.

Muckamore won by the same margin after bowling out Bangor for 105 - Ricky McLarnon top scoring with 39. Three wickets apiece for Steve Lazars and Karthik doing the damage. Jamie Rogers hit an unbeaten 47 and Adita Adey 28 in the straightforward win.

Cregagh are through to the last eight after they chased 145 to beat Derriaghy by six wickets. Jay Hunter's excellent 54 the bedrock for the successful pursuit. Earlier Daniel Poulton hit 62 for the Queensway side, but two wickets each for Charlie Shannon, Adam Beattie and Adam McCormick saw Cregagh on top.

Carrickfergus were another side who chased successfully, with CJ van der Walt following up his 4 for 29 with an unbeaten 58, sharing a fourth wicket stand of 100 as they beat Woodvale, needing just 138.

Holders CIYMS are through but only after a slight wobble as they were 106 for 6 at one stage needing another 53 runs to beat Lisburn.

They have strength in depth and it was the ever consistent Chris Dougherty who ensured their progress, thanks to his 54 not out.

Earlier, Lisburn had suffered the blow of overseas professional Faiz Fazal being ruled out through illness. James Cameron-Dow and Jacob Mulder taking three wickets apiece in their 158.

Last season's beaten finalists CSNI are through after they trounced Armagh, who made just 72. Andre Malan taking a five-wicket haul, while Matthew Foster three, and Andrew Cowden two, were the other wicket takers.

Gary Wilson (32*) and Marc Ellison (27) scoring most of the runs as they passed their modest target with only two wickets down - both consolation wickets to Ben Mackey.

Templepatrick bucked the trend by being the only side to win batting first. Ari Smith hitting 79 as they beat Downpatrick by 17 runs despite 61 from Craig Boultwood.

The Holywood versus Waringstown game fell victim to the elements.