Jurie Snyman and Neil Rock share a stand of 205 as Rush beat Clontarf. The Hills, Malahide, Phoenix, Balbriggan and Merrion are also victorious.

The defeat ends Clontarf's hopes of making the semi-finals, and indeed their Premier hopes are hanging by a thread, needing to win their final two matches and hope results go their way elsewhere.

They ran into Storm Synman at Kenure, where the South African overseas player took a liking to their attack on an excellent pitch and the small surroundings.

Snyman hit an incredible 17 sixes in his innings of 178 from just 106 balls, which also included 9 fours.

He and Rock added their 205 in 22.1 overs, with the Irish U19 skipper hitting 7 sixes and 3 fours in his 85 from 65 balls.

The platform had been laid by teenage opener Nathan McGuire who hit 12 fours in his 56, while Stephen Doheny also made 43 as Rush posted 402 for 5.

Clontarf skipper Eoghan Delany ensured respectability with his maiden senior hundred for the Castle Avenue side, sharing stands of 75 with Robert Forrest (42) and 74 with Niall Delany who made a run-a-ball 32.

Andrew Poynter also made 42 in even time as Clontarf finished 84 runs adrift on 318 for 8.

The Hills look certain of a semi-final berth with their fifth straight win, as they chased 129 to beat Dublin University by five wickets at College Park.

In form opener Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin made a patient 52 not out, adding 69 in 23 overs for the fourth wicket with Daya Singh (34).

Singh had earlier claimed four wickets, and skipper Tomas Rooney-Murphy three as the students were dismissed for 129 - Matthew Strong top scoring with 53 from 59 balls (6 fours).

Merrion are into the semi-finals after a 139 runs win over Pembroke at Sydney Parade.

The home side had hoped to include some of their Irish internationals but that plan was vetoed by the Irish hierarchy - who rather head scratchingly allowed James McCollum to play in Belfast, but denied the Dublin based players to make the short trip to D4.

John Anderson yet again was the bedrock for the Merrion batting, as they ran up 272. He top scored with 79 sharing stands of 84 with Michael Lewis (56), and 74 with Tyrone Kane (34).

There were three wickets apiece for Ryan Hopkins and Shaheen Khan, while Fiachra Tucker picked up a brace.

Pembroke's chase never got going as they were dismissed for 133, with Theo (32) and Paul Lawson (29) getting starts as well as Jack Balbirnie (30).

Anderson completed a fine all-round display with two wickets, while Niranjan Shankar picked up 3 for 32 and Hugh Kennedy 2 for 18.

Clint Hinchcliffe was also to the fore as Balbriggan kept their Premier League ambitions alive with an easy 8-wicket win over Terenure.

The Australian took 3 for 20 as Terenure made 165 - Jack Webster hitting 56.

He then hit 14 fours and cleared the ropes once in an unbeaten 72 from 74 balls, sharing stands of 81 for the second wicket with Conor Fletcher (30) and an unbroken 63 in just 39 balls with Farooq Nasr (35*) as they raced to victory with 22.3 overs to spare.

Phoenix ran out convincing 101 run winners at home to North County, with Simi Singh hitting 52, while skipper Adam Chester and Poonish Mehta both scored 49 as they made 255 for 9.

Yassar Cook (3-42) was the pick of the County attack, and he top scored also 61, adding 74 for the 5th wicket with Dhram Singh (26), but the chase petered out as they finished on 154 - three wickets for Amish Sidhu and two for Gordon Millar.

Malahide won again - their fourth on the bounce this year to go with their unbeaten league campaign last season - beating Railway Union by 35 runs at Park Avenue.

Fintan McAllister top scored with 47 in a consistent batting effort by the villagers - Greg and Matt Ford making 38 and 35 in a fourth wicket stand of 67, while Arjun Mehta (36), Alan Reynolds (21) and Kelvin Donnelly (20) also in the runs.

Irish youth international Alex Stiles claimed two wickets and he then hit 57 in the Railway reply, adding 77 with Glen Querl (33) but the required rate was just too much for the home side and they finished on 207 for 8 - four wickets for Anish Desai and two for Irish international Peter Chase.

All to play for then going into the final two rounds of fixtures on May 18th and 26th.


At Jack Harper Memorial Park, Balbriggan beat Terenure by 8 wickets
Terenure 165 (48.4 overs; J Webster 56, K McDonald 25; J Newport 3-19, C Hinchcliffe 3-20, Farooq Nasr 2-30, N Rooney 2-37)
Balbriggan 168/2 (27.3 overs; C Hinchcliffe 72*, Farooq Nasr 35*, C Fletcher 30)

At Kenure, Rush beat Clontarf by 84 runs
Rush 402/5 (50 overs; J Snyman 178*, N Rock 85, N McGuire 56, S Doheny 43)
Clontarf 318/8 (50 overs; E Delany 128, R Forrest 44, A Poynter 42, N Delany 32; S Ramnathphur 2-48, A Eastwood 2-61)

At College Park, The Hills beat Dublin University by 5 wickets
Dublin University 129 (40.5 overs; M Strong 53, M Hogan 23; Daya Singh 4-41, T Rooney-Murphy 3-10, L Clinton 2-15)
The Hills 130/5 (40.4 overs; C McLoughlin-Gavin 52*, Daya Singh 34*)

At Sydney Parade, Merrion beat Pembroke by 139 runs
Merrion 272 (49.3 overs; J Anderson 79, M Lewis 56, T Kane 34; D Joyce 33; R Hopkins 3-34, Shaheen Khan 3-49, F Tucker 2-36)
Pembroke 133 (36.4 overs; T Lawson 32, J Balbirnie 30, P Lawson 29; Niranjan Shankar 3-32, J Anderson 2-12, H Kennedy 2-18)

At Park Avenue, Malahide beat Railway Union by 35 runs
Malahide 242/9 (50 overs; F McAllister 47, G Ford 38, Arjun Muntha 36, M Ford 35, A Reynolds 21, K Donnelly 20*; A Stiles 2-22, A Jackson 2-27, P Kamal 2-30, H Maan 2-35)
Railway Union 207/8 (50 overs; A Stiles 57, G Querl 33, H Sultan 31, C Diviney 27*; A Desai 4-48, P Chase 2-39)

At Phoenix Park, Phoenix beat North County by 101 runs
Phoenix 255/9 (50 overs; S Singh 52, A Chester 49, P Mehta 49; Yassar Cook 3-42, Dhram Singh 2-34)
North County 154 (41 overs; Y Cook 61, Dhram Singh 26; Amish Sidhu 3-36, G Millar 2-28)