Cool Hand Luke Clinton rolled back the years with a magnificent seven wicket haul as The Hills thumped local rivals North County to earn bragging rights in the Fingal derby.

There was no sign of the carnage to come as County reached 45 for 1 in the 12th over with Irish youth international Jamie Grassi on 29.

His dismissal though sparked an almighty collapse, as 45 balls later they were all out for 67 - the last 9 wickets falling for just 22.

Clinton claimed 7 for 13 in five destructive overs, backed up by some excellent catching as The Hills never relinquished their stranglehold on the game as the wickets fell like dominoes.

The home side knocked off their modest target in 13.4 overs with Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin (35*) and Harry Archer (16*) coasting to victory.

Pembroke were almost as convincing in their 8-wicket win at home to Terenure.

Skipper Fiachra Tucker took 3 for 8, while spinners Paul Lawson and JJ Garth each picked up a brace as Terenure struggled to 80 - Ken McDonald (19) their top scorer.

Irish international Andy Balbirnie made 22, while Shaheen Khan (23*) and Theo Lawson (21*) were also in the runs in a routine win.

Dom Joyce led the way with a brilliant 143 as Merrion continued their impressive start to the season, yet again passing the 300 mark.

Joyce scored his 10th hundred for the club, hitting 16 fours and one six in his 145-ball stay, as Merrion piled up 333 for 8 against Rush.

He shared a fifth wicket stand of 162 in 18.5 overs with Tyrone Kane, who clubbed 6 sixes and 5 fours in a belligerent 85 from just 58 balls.

James Hitchcock added a quickfire 40 from 22 deliveries (2 fours, 3 sixes) to push the total well past the 300.

Rush were then blown away by Max Sorensen's six-wicket haul, all out for just 65, with two wickets each for Tom Stanton and James Groom.

Lorcan Tucker was one of the day's other two centurions as he helped his Dublin University side to an emphatic 134-run verdict against Railway Union.

The Irish international hit 8 fours and 4 sixes in his 122 from 108 balls, sharing a 4th wicket partnership of 160 in 28 overs with Matt Kuhnemann.

The Australian overseas professional made 66, and with Matt Strong making an unbeaten 35, the students finished on 284 for 6 - Andrew Jackson taking 3 for 46.

Milo Egan's four wickets then ensured Railway were never in contention - all out for 150, with Kuhnemann completing a fine all-round day with two wickets.

Leinster gave skipper Gareth Delany a welcome birthday present with their second win of the weekend as they beat Balbriggan by 41 runs (DLS).

Australian Clint Hinchcliffe made a brilliant 108 from 105 balls (11 fours, 5 sixes) for the home side, but received little in the way of support, apart from one meaningful stand with Ehtesham Ahmed (19).

Hinchcliffe dominated a sixth wicket stand of 74 in 12 overs, but a final total of 195 was always likely to be a little short of par on a traditionally fast scoring ground.

Monil Patel's 58 ensured Leinster were always ahead of the game, and with Delany (23) and George Dockrell (26*) also in the runs.

The rain duly arrived with Leinster declared 41 runs winners on DLS.

Malahide made it three in a row - their 14th league win in total after being unbeaten in 2018 - as they defeated an out of sorts YMCA at Claremont Road.

Fionn Hand hit 60 and Aviril Shukla 23 in their modest total of 171, with Neil Boyne collecting four scalps, while Matt Ford and James Newland took two wickets apiece.

Alan Reynolds got the innings off to a quick start, hitting 8 fours and 2 sixes from just 43 balls, as he dominated an opening stand of 58 with Anish Desai (27).

Desai and Greg Ford went in quick succession, but Damien Mortimer (38*) and Matt Ford raced to the finishing line with a fourth wicket stand of 65 in 46 balls.

Ford - son of Ireland Head Coach Graham - showed his power once again as he hit four sixes and 4 fours in his 45 not out from 26 balls.

Surely a good bet for interprovincial selection this year, with Ireland selection a possibility when he qualifies through residency next year?


At Jack Harper Memorial Park, Balbriggan lost to Leinster by 41 runs (DLS)
195 (48.5 overs; C Hinchcliffe 108; G Dockrell 2-13, H Venter 2-18, Saqib Bahadur 2-40)
Leinster 154/4 (32 overs; M Patel 58, G Dockrell 26*, G Delany 23)

At Claremont Road, YMCA lost to Malahide by 7 wickets
171 (48.5 overs; F Hand 60, A Shukla 23; N Boyne 4-40, M Ford 2-18, J Newland 2-33)
Malahide 172/3 (30 overs; A Reynolds 52, M Ford 45*, D Mortimer 38*, A Desai 27)

At College Park, Dublin University beat Railway Union by 134 runs
Dublin University
284/6 (50 overs; L Tucker 122, M Kuhnemann 66, M Strong 35*, A Jackson 3-46)
Railway Union 150 (40.3 overs; Hashir Sultan 37, Saad Ullah 26, Hamza Maan 21; Milo Egan 4-21, M Kuhnemann 2-12, Srikanth 2-58)

At Angelsea Road, Merrion beat Rush by 268 runs
333/8 (D Joyce 143, T Kane 85, J Hitchcock 40; J Snyman 3-60, Subramaya Ramnathpur 2-61)
Rush 65 (17.3 overs; M Sorensen 6-46, T Stanton 2-4, J Groom 2-14)

At Milverton, The Hills beat North County by 10 wickets
North County
67 (19.2 overs; J Grassi 29, L Clinton 7-13, D Singh 2-16)
The Hills 69/0 (13.4 overs; C McLoughlin-Gavin 35*, H Archer 16*)

At Sydney Parade, Pembroke beat Terenure by 8 wickets
80 (38.5 overs; K McDonald 19; F Tucker 3-8, P Lawson 2015, JJ Garth 2-16)
Pembroke 83/2 (12.1 overs; Shaheen Khan 23*, A Balbirnie 22, T Lawson 21*)