It was a day when most of the big guns in Leinster flexed their muscles, with Merrion, Malahide, Phoenix and The Hills all winning for the second time.

Simi Singh came back to haunt his former YMCA team mates with a brilliant century and three wickets in their 68-run (DLS) win.

Singh smote 9 sixes and 9 fours in his 124 from 82 balls, sharing a third wicket stand of 102 in 106 balls with fellow Irish international James Shannon (37).

That saw Phoenix post an imposing 281 in the 42-over game, and although YM made a brave fist of it, they were always playing catch up.

Harry Tector hit 61 from 59 balls (5 fours, 1 six) as he and Rory Anders (46) put on a run-a-ball 104 for the 3rd wicket, but three wickets for Singh and Poonish Methta saw Phoenix maintain command.

James Parkinson hit 4 sixes in a 25-ball 46, but it was 'a dead cat bounce' as YM lost by 68 runs.

Michael Lewis was again in the runs as Merrrion overcame Clontarf in a high scoring encounter at Castle Avenue.

Lewis took 32 from a Sameer Dutt over (5 sixes and a two) on his way to 90 from 74 balls (1 four, 8 sixes) as he and John Anderson put on 144 for the 3rd wicket in 21 overs.

Anderson's 79 came from 76 balls (7 fours, 2 sixes).

If Clontarf's beleaguered attack thought their dismissals would signal a calmer period they were mistaken as Tyrone Kane (43*) and David Langford-Smith (45) each hit 3 sixes and 3 fours in a whirlwind stand 0f 92 in 7 overs as Merrion made 322 for 7 in 47 overs.

Clontarf battled bravely but were always well behind the required rate, despite skipper Eoghan Delany's 82, as he shared stands of 98 with Bill Coghlan (49) and 84 in just 55 balls with younger brother David, who thumped 5 fours and 3 sixes in an entertaining 56 from 29 balls as Clontarf fell 70 runs short.

Daya Singh followed up his match-winnings innings last week with an unbeaten century as The Hills defeated Railway Union in a 25-over match.

Batting first, Joe Carroll made a breezy 26, before Singh and Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin added an unbroken 185 in just 115 balls to take their side to 221 for 1.

Singh reached the landmark with a six from the penultimate ball of the innings, striking Glenn Querl over the ropes. In all he hit 5 sixes and 8 fours in 60-ball innings, with McLoughlin-Gavin providing great support in his 81 from 73 deliveries (7 fours, 2 sixes).

Railway - without their overseas professional, Kenny Carroll and Kevin O'Brien - made 142 in their chase, with Prabhanshu Kamal hitting 46 and Hashir Sultan 40.

Manu Kumar (3-13) and Naseer Shaukat (2-31) were best with the ball.

At Malahide, the home side won an entertaining match against Dublin University - the match most notable for the first appearance for the students in 18 years by Ed Joyce.

A 22 over match saw Malahide rack up 213 for 5, with Alan Reynolds and Matt Ford both hitting 5 sixes in quickfire half-centuries, while overseas pro Damien Mortimer also passed 50.

Joyce fell for a run-a-ball 17, but Lorcan Tucker hit 5 sixes in a powerful half century to keep his side interested, and they threatened briefly as Waqar Azmat smashed 37, but in the end they fell 19 runs adrift.

Leinster skipper Gareth Delany certainly led by example as his side beat Rush by 8 wickets, chasing 138 to win with four balls to spare in a 20-over contest.

Delany hit 5 sixes in a quickfire 39 from 29 balls, sharing an opening stand of 70 in 10 overs with Hugh MacDonnell (40).

Monil Patel (32*) and George Dockrell (20*) timed the chase to perfection as they added an unbroken stand for the 3rd wicket of 53 in 39 deliveries.

Earlier Delany had claimed a five-wicket haul, including three in an over as Rush subsided from 90 for 1 in the 11th over to 138 all out.

Stephen Doheny had crashed 6 sixes in a top score of 70 from 37 balls, before the wheels came off the Rush innings.

The Balbriggan versus Pembroke game fell by the wayside as the umpires eventually called the match off at 4:30pm despite the best efforts of all to try and get some play.

Sunday sees another full programme scheduled and hopefully the weather will play ball as the new format takes shape.

At Milverton, The Hills beat Railway Union by 79 runs
The Hills 221/1 (25 overs; Daya Singh 103*, C McLoughlin-Gavin 81*, J Carroll 26)
Railway Union 142/9 (25 overs; Prabhanshu Kamal 46, Hashir Sultan 40; Manu Kumar 3-13, Naseer Shaukat 2-31)

At The Village, Malahide beat Dublin University by 19 runs
Malahide 213/5 (22 overs; M Ford 56, D Mortimer 56, A Reynolds 55, G Ford 26*; C Hoey 2-41)
Dublin University 194/6 (L Tucker 55, Waqar Azmat 37, Junaid Altaf 28; M Ford 2-24, K Donnelly 2-33).

At Phoenix Park, Phoenix beat YMCA by 68 runs (DLS) Par score 283 in 42 overs
Phoenix 281/8 (42 overs; S Singh 124, J Shannon 37, L McDonough 22, Poonish Mehta 20; J Parkinson 2-40, R Anders 2-42)
YMCA 215 (38.3 overs; H Tector 61, R Anders 46, J Parkinson 46; S Singh 3-35, P Mehta 3-55, B White 2-23)

At Castle Avenue, Clontarf lost to Merrion by 70 runs
Merrion 322/6 (47 overs: M Lewis 90, J Anderson 79, D Langford-Smith 45, T Kane 43, D Joyce 29, P Tice 20; J Morrissey 3-56)
Clontarf 252/8 (47 overs; E Delany 82, D Delany 56, B Coghlan 49, R Forrest 20; T Kane 2-31, Niranjan Shankar 2-58, M Sorensen 2-63)

At Observatory Lane, Rathmines, Leinster beat Rush by 8 wickets
Rush 138 (19.5 overs; S Doheny 70, N McGuire 20; G Delany 5-25, G Dockrell 2-25)
Leinster 139/2 (19.2 overs; H MacDonnell 40, G Delany 39, M Patel 32*, G Dockrell 20*; Subramanya Ramnathpur 2-21)

Balbriggan v Pembroke; No play.