The NWCU have announced details of a new ‘Warriors Challenge Series’ this season that will see Co .Derry versus Co. Tyrone go head-to-head in a series of 50-over and T20 games.

The first round of fixtures take place on Thursday 25th and Friday 26th at Bready CC. Both games start at 11am with a 50-over match on the Thursday followed by a T20 game on Friday.

The squads are made up of Under 20 players from the NWCU and General Manager, Peter McCartney, outlined the thinking behind the new series.

“We are looking to close the gap between Under 17 Warriors and the Warriors team. This new series is predominately aimed at our Under 20’s and will give coaches a good opportunity to see not only those players in our current Under 17 set-up but also those players who are impressing in the club game. We have players from 13 clubs being represented and it should be a great way to start off the season.

"Whilst the focus may be on our Senior Warriors over in La Manga this week, we are working hard to ensure local talent continues to be developed within the Union. Our coaches Kevin Martin and Mark Olphert have been excellent at pushing on the Under 17 programme and this is another important stage in the process.

"We have also an expanded Emerging Warriors programme this year with 6 games already planned for the season, the first of which is an Emerging Warriors vs Chairman’s XI at Donemana on Monday 6th May.”

County Derry Under 20

  • Alex Boyd (Glendermott)
  • Varun Chopra (Coleraine)
  • Matt Hutchison (Coleraine)
  • Stuart Kennedy (Ballyspallen)
  • Sher Khan (Coleraine)
  • Todd Killen (Newbuildings)
  • Conor King (Ardmore )
  • Kyle Magee (Brigade)
  • Robbie Millar (Eglinton)
  • Ben Mills (Glendermott)
  • Trent McKeegan (Newbuildings)
  • Tommy Orr (Eglinton)

County Tyrone Under 20

  • Adam Boyd (Fox Lodge)
  • Ali Doherty (Fox Lodge)
  • Levi Dougherty (Donemana)
  • William Finlay (Killyclooney)
  • Conor Graham (Strabane)
  • Tommy Harpur (Strabane)
  • Cameron Knight (Bready)
  • Aidan Logue (Fox Lodge )
  • Rhys Logue (Strabane)
  • Jack Macbeth (St Johnston)
  • Marc McCloskey (Bready)
  • Gregory McFaul (Bready)