The final edition of the World Cricket League has begun in Windhoek, Namibia, with wins for the hosts, Oman and Hong Kong.

At the main Wanderers ground, Namibia won the toss and put Papua New Guinea in to bat. The visitors struggled to get any sort of partnership together, with Chad Soper the only batsman to get a start, though he couldn't capitalise on it and was dismissed for 36. Craig Williams, Jan Frylinck and JJ Smit all took three wickets for the Namibians, Frylinck the pick, going for just 16 runs.

With Papua New Guinea bowled out for 118, the chase should have been a perfunctory one for Namibia, but they somehow contrived to lose 7 wickets. Frylinck followed his 3-16 by top scoring with an unbeaten 23 as part of a match securing partnership of 32 with JJ Smit. The 3 wicket win was secured with 19.3 overs to spare.

At the United Club, Oman also chose to field first after winning the toss, putting the USA in to bat. The first wicket for the Americans fell in the most unfortunate circumstances when bowler Bilal Khan deflected a straight shot on to the bowlers end with Xavier Marshall finding himself outside his crease.

There was a scary moment with the score on 34-3 when Jaskaran Malhotra was felled by a bouncer and was taken from the field in an ambulance. Fortunately for the US, tests showed that he was fine and he eventually returned at the fall of the seventh wicket. At that point though, the USA were well on the back foot with the score on 124, and they were bowled out for 148.

The Oman chase started with Ali Khan destroying the top order, taking each of the first three wickets. Zeeshan Maqsood and Mohammad Nadeem took the score from 17-3 to 55 when Khan took the fourth wicket, having Maqsood caught behind for 28. There were no more wickets though as Nadeem and Suraj Kumar put on an unbroken 97 to secure a six wicket win. Nadeem top scored with 55, whilst Kumar scored 50.

Over at Affies Park, Canada were the only team to elect to bat first after winning the toss in their contest against Hong Kong. Ruvindu Gunasekera was dismissed early on in their innings, before Navneet Dhaliwal and Srimantha Wijeyeratne put on 82 for the second wicket.

Both were dismissed for 44, whilst the top score of the Canadian innings came from skipper Davy Jacobs, who scored an unbeaten 52 in their total of 222-8. Kinchit Shah was the pick of the Hong Kong bowlers with 4-32. The Hong Kong chase was dominated by Anshy Rath, who scored an unbeaten 114 to help secure a seven wicket win.

The tournament will continue tomorrow. The two North American sides will look to get their respective tournaments back on track with the USA playing hosts Namibia and Canada taking on Oman. Hong Kong will come up against Papua New Guinea in a rematch of what is, to date, each team's last ODI.


Namibia beat Papua New Guinea by 3 wickets
Wanderers Cricket Ground, Windhoek, 20 April
Papua New Guinea 118 (42.1 overs, C Soper 36, J Frylinck 3-16, C Williams 3-25, JJ Smit 3-34)
Namibia 120-7 (30.3 overs, C Amini 3-46)

Oman beat USA by 6 wickets
United Club Ground, Windhoek, 20 April
USA 148 (37.5 overs, Fayyaz Butt 3-23)
Oman 152-4 (47.5 overs, Mohammad Nadeem 55, Suraj Kumar 50, Ali Khan 4-27)

Hong Kong beat Canada by 7 wickets
Affies Club Ground, Windhoek, 20 April
Canada 222-8 (50 overs, D Jacobs 52*, N Dhaliwal 44, S Wijeyeratne 44, K Shah 4-32)
Hong Kong 223-3 (47.2 overs, A Rath 114*, J Atkinson 35)