To celebrate International Women’s Day, Cricket Leinster have announced the three teams for the inaugural Hundred Blast League.

The Hundred Blast League will see three squads, aged between sixteen and twenty-one compete in a nine-match series over three competitive days this summer.

Tournament organiser, Sue O’Connor is really happy with the reaction to the new competition; “I’ve been amazed at the comments and feedback I have received since it was announced in February. Everyone has been very positive and there is a genuine excitement among the players."

Sue added “We hope this tournament can become a permanent fixture in the Cricket Leinster calendar, and therefore help retain women and girls in the game and eventually attract new players.”

Following the launch of the Cricket Leinster’s strategic plan, one of the targets was to bring women and girl’s cricket to new areas.

The first two rounds will be held in Ringcommons CC (June 30th) and Knockharley CC (July 20th). The finals day will be held in Leinster CC (August 17th), who have a lot of experience hosting finals days.

Finally, we have appointed Una Raymond Hoey, Sophie MacMahon and Rachel Delaney as the coaches for the teams. All three are coaching in their clubs, and are sure to bring their experience of playing at international and super3 level to their squads.

The squads are:

Slaney Sharks; Molly Butler (Clontarf), Isabel Saeed Maguire (Leinster), Emma Forbes (YMCA), Beth Dimond (Leinster), Roisin Staunton (YMCA), Molly Streak (YMCA), Catherine Foley (Rush), Kate McAlinden (Merrion), Mia McCollough (Leinster), Vanshika Shukla (YMCA), Natasha Morton (The Hills), Rhiann Slevin (Leinster). Coached by Una Raymond Hoey (Clontarf)

Liffey Hawks; Amy Collins (YMCA), Ellen Ridgeway (Leinster), Keeva Vickers (Clontarf), Ruby Shirt (Leinster), Hollie Erskine (Clontarf), Isobel McCormack (Malahide), Kate McEvoy (YMCA), Maria O’Halloran (Malahide), Megan McGeer (Clontarf), Robyn Conway (Leinster), Anna Mooney (The Hills), Mary Kate McLoughlin (Leinster). Coached by Sophie MacMahon (Leinster)

Boyne Crusaders; Orla Bagnall (Leinster), Sarah Brophy (Malahide), Eleanor Doherty (Leinster), Rebekah O’Donohoe (Rush), Lucy Deacon (YMCA), Enya Mak (YMCA), Anna Beale (Pembroke), Aisling McCormack (Malahide), Christina Coulter Reilly (Clontarf), Emma Butler (Clontarf), Sarah Ingram (Leinster), Emily McAlinden (Merrion). Coached by Rachel Delaney (Merrion)

Fixtures: 30th June at Ringcommons Cricket Club 20th July at Knockharley Cricket Club 17th August at Leinster Cricket Club