Cricket Leinster have rung the changes ahead of the 2019 season, with the abolition of the senior cup, and a completely new league format which sees 14 teams split into two sections in the first part of the season.

The two section drawn league sees four teams from Division One and three from Division Two in each.

The top two from each section will play semi-finals, with the winners contesting a final in early June.

The top four in each group will then play for the Premier League title, while the remaining six will play in a Championship.

If Dublin University finish in the top eight places, the team in 9th will take their place in the Premier League.

There are no promotion or relegation slots at stake, while Dublin University will play in the first part of the season, and be replaced by Cork County in the Championship in the second part.

It has the potential to be a fixture nightmare for some clubs in the second part of the season, but these proposals were the ones voted by the clubs themselves, so they can have little cause for complaint.

The competition will be 50-overs and played with white ball and coloured clothing.

The draw for next season took place at the weekend at the Cricket Leinster Club Day and produced the following:

Group A: Malahide, YMCA, North County, The Hills, Railway Union, Phoenix, Dublin University.

Group B: Clontarf, Pembroke, Merrion, Leinster, Rush, Balbriggan, Terenure.