It promises to be a keenly fought contest between Murtaza Sidiqi, Adam Dennison and John Anderson to be crowned the Club Player of the Year on Friday night.

All three had excellent campaigns this season for their respective clubs.

Murtaza Sidiqi of Limerick has been with the club for two seasons 2017-2018.

In the 38 games he has played he has scored 1,551 runs at an average of 51.70, with a highest score of 175*.

In 2018, in 19 games, he scored 855 runs at 50.29, which included two hundreds and five half centuries.

Both John Anderson and Adam Dennison passed the magical 1000 run landmark for the season, to help their teams to major trophies.

Anderson - who retired from international and interprovincial cricket last month - scored 1033 runs at an incredible average of 86.08, making 8 fifties and two hundreds.

The Merrion man extended his lead as the most prolific batsman in Irish Senior Cup history too.

It wasn't enough though to deny Waringstown the trophy as the opening pair of Dennison and Hall laid the foundations for four trophies in a superb season.

Dennison scored four hundreds in making 1003 runs at 59.00, as well as three fifties.

Others worthy of mention, but who failed to make the short-list among the batters were the aforementioned James Hall and Dom Joyce.

The shortlist is dominated by batsmen, with no bowler making the cut.

CIYMS opening bowler Allen Coulter can consider himself unlucky, as his haul of 42 wickets at just 12.17 would have warranted him a nomination any other year.