The KNCB has awarded nine players a fifteen months contract.

Skipper Pieter Seelaar, Stephan Myburgh, Wesley Barresi, Tobias Visee, Ben Cooper, Max O’Dowd, Freddie Klaassen, Scott Edwards, and teenager Bas de Leede are the lucky nine.

This extension of the number of contracted players is the result of The Netherlands men’s XI qualification for the ODI League, which includes the top twelve cricketing nations.

The Dutch squad will undergo an extensive training and preparation programme lead by the National head coach Ryan Campbell.

“Everything Dutch cricket has done so far has led us to this point," said Campbell. 

"To take on the best in the world over a period of three years, will give us a chance to give opportunities to young Dutch players to become full time professionals and help us grow the game in this country.

“The ODI League is without any doubt the biggest cricketing achievement in the history of Dutch cricket. The players as well as the staff can’t wait for the ODI League to commence, starting in July 2020 with clashes versus the West Indies and Pakistan."