Leinster Lightning captured the interpro cup for the fifth consecutive year after a typical fightback which showcased their strength in depth.

Andy Britton's early blitz reduced the defending champions to 34 for 5 after they had elected to bat first in the winner-takes-all clash at Rathmines.

The Brigade skipper finished with 5 for 23 - the second-best figures in the 50-over competition since it was revamped in 2013.

He could, and indeed perhaps should have been celebrating a six-wicket haul, but Gareth Delany's first scoring shot, bisected keeper Niall O'Brien and first slip Andy McBrine, and that reprieve was to prove costly.

Delany went on to top-score with 67, hitting 4 sixes and 4 fours in an innings which grew in fluency and confidence.

He and George Dockrell repaired the initial damage in a sixth wicket stand of 84 in 17 overs, with Lightning's skipper hitting five boundaries in his 39.

The momentum of the contest shifted decisively in an 8th wicket stand of 103 in 81 balls between Irish international Lorcan Tucker (45*) and Tyrone Kane.

The Merrion man displayed his late order power and timing clearing the ropes three times in a hard-hit 57 from just 50 balls to take the hosts to 253 for 8.

Kane then dismissed David Rankin in the first over of the reply, and you got the feeling there would be no denying Lightning.

Irish skipper William Porterfield stroked 11 boundaries in a fluent 71, but Warriors were unable to forge any sizeable partnerships losing wickets any time they seemed to be mounting a challenge.

Simi Singh claimed three wickets in an early spell, Josh Little took two in an impressive spell, while the coup de grace was applied by Kevin O'Brien.

O'Brien had went for 33 in his first three overs, but bounced back to claim a triple wicket maiden as Graham Kennedy, Ross Allen and Andy Britton all fell - the latter two for 0, the Warriors innings containing four ducks in total.

Andy McBrine (30*) and Craig Young landed some late blows, but Young was brilliantly run out by O'Brien to seal the 58-run win.

The victory gave Lightning their 15th trophy out of 18 possible as they continue to set the benchmark at interprovincial level.