Colombia’s cricketing community will receive 167 cricketers from all corners of Latin America as it prepares to host the largest cricket tournament in the history of Latin America on 23rd-26th August at Los Pinos Polo Club in Mosquera, just outside Bogotá.

In its fourth appearance at the South American Championship, Colombia will face previous rivals Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Uruguay – as well as tournament debutant Costa Rica – in the men’s tournament. Teams from Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Peru will compete for the women’s title.

Group games will be held at 9.30am and 2pm on Thursday to Saturday and 9.30am on Sunday, with the both finals scheduled for 2pm on Sunday.

An immense logistical and fundraising undertaking from volunteers in Colombia has made the unprecedented event possible, and the tournament will mark several other firsts:

  • Colombia, a nation not affiliated to the International Cricket Council (ICC), is hosting the South American Championships for the first time ever.
  • Women’s games between Brazil, Chile and Mexico will have official T20 international status for the first time ever, after approval from the ICC
  • Six games of cricket being played simultaneously in Latin America.

Matt Featherstone, Americas Associate Representative at the ICC, said: “This is going to be the biggest cricket tournament ever held in South America. Having full T20 international games in the women’s tournament gives the competition a special edge. I would like to thank the Colombian Cricket Board for all their hard work in making this event a reality.”

The International Cricket Council has confirmed that the matches to be played between the women’s teams of Brazil, Chile and Mexico at the tournament will – for the first time – hold full T20 international status and will offer each team the chance to earn world-ranking points.

The historic news follows the announcement from the international governing body in April this year that all 20 over matches between member nations would be awarded full international status in an effort to grow the sport using the T20 format. This ruling was effective as of July 1 for women's teams.

Colombia’s cricketing community is honoured to host such a historic event in the growth of cricket – especially as it manages to overcome the logistical challenge of organising international cricket without having yet achieved an affiliation with the ICC.