The Championship promotion race is now up to full speed and it is Glendermott who are in the box seat after a hard-fought win over St Johnston on Saturday. Jason Lynch’s side now has a 43-point buffer over the chasing pack albeit having played a game more, but they do have matters firmly in their own hands.

Saturday’s win came courtesy of scores from Gordon Montgomery (42) and Gordon Cooke (39*), while Rammohan Goud’s 5-wicket haul kept the visitors down to 174 as they batted first. Michael Rankin’s 41 was best of the home side’s reply, however 4 wickets for Ian Cooke and 3 for Gordon saw the hosts bowled out for 135.

Ballyspallen claimed the honours in the game of the day as they won at free-scoring Killyclooney. Once again, the runs were shared around the home side- Andre Henry (61) and skipper Darren Moan (47) leading the way as they posted 249-8 in their 50 overs while Stephen Kennedy, Craig Averill and Mark Averill all picked up a couple of wickets.

‘Spallen’s reply was dominated by a superb knock from Craig Averill who smashed 16 fours and 9 sixes in his unbeaten 157. A century stand with James Thompson (22) was the highlight of the reply and despite William Finlay picking up three wickets, the Roe Valley men had enough about them to seal the points.

Drummond won the basement battle against Bonds Glen after Mattie Mills took six wickets to see the Bee Gees shot out for just 57. Chris Moore, Andy Christie, Steve Moore and Jamie Millar had earlier been on the mark as the Roe Valley men made 178- this reverse leaving the Bee Gees marooned at the bottom with games running out.

Burndennett go from strength to strength after Mattie Barr’s half century helped them chase down Newbuildings’ modest 111 all out. Stephen McCay with 4 wickets and son Ross with 3 did most of the damage in the first innings and the home side now look certain of a top-half finish having chased down the small target with six wickets to spare.

On Sunday, Ballyspallen went through to the semi-finals of the National Cup after a 99-run verdict over St Johnston. A brilliant 123 from Darnell McCallum was the catalyst for the home side’s daunting 274-4 in 40 overs- the West Indian hitting 12 fours and 7 sixes in his stylish knock.

Craig Averill added 61 (7 fours) as he and McCallum posted a stand of 170 for the 2nd wicket and Graham Kennedy 31 while Mark Averill hit 3 sixes in his sharp 29 not out. Nathan Cole (3-19) fared best of the Saints’ bowlers and David Lapsley (61) the pick of their batsmen, but the Donegal side rarely looked like chasing down the big target.

Lapsley didn’t hang about- his runs coming off just 42 balls and including 3 fours and 6 sixes, but it was never enough as ‘Spallen ran out convincing winners- the Averill boys with four wickets apiece to settle the contest.

Newbuildings are the newest name on the Eric Cooke Cup after Marty Mehaffey’s men won a real thriller against Bonds Glen as the regional T20 finals day got underway in front of a big Rectory crowd on Sunday.

Batting first, the village side made a respectable 128-8 with Stephen Wallace faring best with 33 while Mark Hanna added 20. Best with the ball for the Bee Gees was their overseas man, Ewald Roberts (2-9), although David Robinson (2-28) and Kyle Moore (2-31) were also tidy.

Unfortunately for the Glen they contrived to lose regular wickets in the chase- Ash Buchanan proving the best of their reply as he made 22. With a low-ish target however they were able to hang in, and Bonds Glen would have been slight favourites going into the last over needing just seven to win, however Trent McKeegan (2-27) bowled a cracker to keep them to four.

Jason Dunn’s 3-11 was an excellent effort in the circumstances and deservedly helped him to the man-of-the-match award.


At Killyclooney, Ballyspallen (22pts) beat Killyclooney (3pts) by 4 wickets

Killyclooney 249-8 (50 overs; A Henry 61, D Moan 47, A Colhoun 31, W Finlay 29*, T Dougherty 25, D Lynch 20; Ste Kennedy 2-19, C Averill 2-30, M Averill 2-54)
Ballyspallen 250-6 (45.3 overs; C Averill 157*, J Thompson 22; W Finlay 3-50)

At Drummond, Drummond (25 pts) beat Bonds Glen (0 pts) by 121 runs

Drummond 178 (46.2 overs; C Moore 38, A Christie 30, S Moore 23, C McElwee 23, J Millar 22; L Britton 3-33, K Moore 2-21, E Roberts 2-27, D Robinson 2-45)
Bonds Glen 57 (15.1 overs; R Curry 24; M Mills 6-28, D Carlin 3-26)

At the Boathole, Glendermott (21pts) beat St Johnston (4pts) by 39 runs

Glendermott 174 (48 overs; G Montgomery 42, G Cooke 39*, D Cooke 20; R Goud-Sama 5-30, D MacBeth 2-34)
St Johnston 135 (41.2 overs; M Rankin 41, J MacBeth 22; I Cooke 4-20, G Cooke 3-19)

At Burndennett, Burndennett (23pts) beat Newbuildings (2pts) by 6 wickets

Newbuildings 111 (30.2 overs; D Moore 32, D Mehaffey 30; S McCay 4-37, R McCay 3-19, M Barr 2-40)
Burndennett 114-4 (24.3 overs; M Barr 58)



At Bridge Park, Ballyspallen beat St Johnston by 99 runs

Ballyspallen 275-4 (40 overs; Darnell McCallum 123, Craig Averill 61, Graham Kennedy 31, Mark Averill 29*; Nathan Cole 3-19)
St Johnston 176 (32.2 overs; David Lapsley 61, Ian MacBeth 34, Jack MacBeth 24, Andrew Fleming 20; Craig Averill 4-21, Mark Averill 4-33)


At the Rectory, Newbuildings beat Bonds Glen by 2 runs

Newbuildings 128-8 (20 overs; S Wallace 33, M Hanna 20, E Roberts 2-9, D Robinson 2-28, K Moore 2-31)
Bonds Glen 126-9 (20 overs; A Buchanan 22; J Dunn 3-11, T McKeegan 2-27)