The final of the 2018 Lagan Valley Steels competition will be a repeat of the 2017 decider after defending champions Waringstown and North Down recorded comfortable wins over CIYMS and CSNI.

Both matches followed similar patterns with the home sides setting challenging totals based on a match defining partnership.

Warinsgtown openers Adam Dennison and James Hall shared an opening stand of 96 in 11 overs which gave them the upper hand against CIYMS.

Hall struck 4 sixes and 4 fours in his 52 from just 33 balls, with Dennison proving the perfect foil as he made 40 from 39 deliveries (5 fours, 1 six).

Shaheen Khan (21), James McCollum (18*), Greg Thompson (15), and Lee Nelson (10) all made double figures as the Villagers finished on 169 for 5 - perhaps a little short than they would have wished after their flying start.

It mattered little as despite a flurry of boundaries from Chris Dougherty (21) in the opening overs, CIYMS lost vital wickets with the result their chase never gained any traction.

Shaheen Khan (2-16) accounted for openers Dougherty and John Matchett, while Phil Eaglestone accounted for Nigel Jones.

Lee Nelson (2-13) dismissed Matt McGillivray and Jacob Mulder, while the returning Kyle McCallan had top scorer Ryan Hunter (30) caught by Hall.

James McCollum's occasionally used medium pacers wrapped up the tail as he claimed 3 for 28 as CIYMS were all out for 102 in the 16th over.

At Comber, North Down ran out 51-run winners over CSNI.

Half centuries from Peter Eakin and Ryan Haire led North Down to 175 for 8.

Eakin clubbed 6 fours and 3 sixes in a rapid 57 from just 34 balls, as he and Haire added 105 for the 4th wicket.

Former Irish international Haire's 54 came from 40 balls as he too hit 6 fours and cleared the ropes twice.

Earlier Ruhan Pretorius had given the innings impetus with 6 boundaries in a quickfire 29.

Ben Adair (3-20) was the pick of the attack, while there were two wickets apiece for Matthew Foster and Andre Malan.

Pretorius (3-19) struck early blows as he removed the big two of Malan and Ellison cheaply, and thereafter it was all about respectability.

Corin Goodall finished unbeaten on 47 from 45 balls (5 fours) while Chris Morran (22) hit the only six of the innings as CSNI ended on 124 for 8.

The final will be played at The Lawn on Sunday July 22nd - start time tbc.