The first ever ICC event in Rwanda got underway today as four teams began their qualification pathway towards the 2020 World T20 in Australia. Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and hosts Rwanda make up the Africa Region B Qualifier, and Kenya and Tanzania have got their campaigns off to a winning start.

Kenya and Uganda got proceedings underway in the morning at the Gahanga International Cricket Stadium, with the former winning the toss and choosing to put their old rivals in to bat. Captain Roger Musaka got Uganda off to a flying start with 25 from 13 balls before he was the first man out from the first ball of the fourth over.

Hamu Kayondo and Ronak Patel took the score to 73 before they fell in successive deliveries from the last ball of the seventh and the first of the eighth over. There was to be no slowing down after that quick brace of wickets though, with Dinesh Nakrani and Riazat Ali Shah proceeding to hammer the Kenyan bowlers to all parts.

They put on an unbroken 167 in 12.5 overs, Nakrani top scoring with 88 from 42 balls and Shah scoring 74 from 35. The pair hit nine sixes and 16 fours between them to help Uganda post a challenging total of 240-3.

Refusing to be overawed by such a huge chase, Kenyan openers Dhiren Gondaria and Alex Obanda scored 75 from the first five overs before Obanda was out for 35 from the first ball of the sixth over. Captain Gondaria carried on providing the impetus, and he was eventually the fourth man out, having scored 90 from 46 balls.

The score when Gondaria fell in the 16th over was 194-4, with Kenya now needing 47 from 24 balls. Nelson Odhiambo scored two from his first ball, but fell from the next, bringing Lucas Oluoch to the middle to join Shem Ngoche. The pair put on 44 in 21 balls to bring the scores level before Oluoch was run out going for the winning run.

Defeat for Uganda was only delayed by one ball though as Ngoche hit the winning run from the next delivery to secure a remarkable four wicket win with three balls to spare.

In the afternoon, hosts Rwanda took on Tanzania, with the visitors choosing to bat first after captain Kassim Mussa won the toss. As in the opening game, it was another big score as Tanzania scored 197-7 from their 20 overs.

Abhik Patwa led the way with 56 from 25 balls, whilst Zamoyoni Jaboneke also scored quickly with 43, also from 25 balls. Unlike in the morning, Rwanda couldn't chase down their target and were bowled out for 121. Eric Niyomugabo top scored for them with 43 from 21 balls.

The double round robin tournament continues tomorrow when Tanzania play Uganda in the morning and the hosts take on Kenya in the afternoon.


Kenya beat Uganda by 4 wickets
Gahanga International Cricket Stadium, 7 July
Uganda 240-3 (20 overs, D Nakrani 88*, Riazat Ali Shah 74*)
Kenya 241-6 (19.3 overs, D Gondaria 90, A Obanda 35)

Rwanda lost to Tanzania by 76 runs
Gahanga International Cricket Stadium, 7 July
Tanzania 197-7 (20 overs, A Patwa 56, Z Jaboneke 43)
Rwanda 121 (16.1 overs, E Niyomugabo 43)