Home advantage counted for nothing as both Challenge Cup semi-finals were won by the visiting teams albeit in contrasting styles.
CSNI set Instonians a challenging but gettable 279 for victory but were effectively out of the game after they were reduced to 6 for 4 in an opening burst by Malan and McCarter.

A brisk opening stand of 62 between Marc Ellison (27) and skipper James Kennedy (41) set CSNI on their way against the depleted Instonians attack and with numbers 3,4 and 5 - André Malan (34), Gary Wilson (37) and Arnie Wright (47) all making contributions it looked as if a score of 300 was a possibility.

Late wickets from Jordan Magee (4-51) ensured that would not happen and in the end CSNI did well to total 278. A solid but eminently chaseable on a lightning fast outfield.

It was a dream start with the ball for CSNI, Malan removing Olly Metcalfe, splicing a pull in the air and James Hunter edging the next delivery behind.
Shane Getkate was then bowled by Graeme McCarter for the third duck of the innings while James Shannon watched the carnage from the other end.
Shannon followed for 2 and at that point, 6 for 4, it was a long road ahead for the home side.

Andrew White (59) and Ben Rose (17) added 47 for the 6th and then Stephen Bunting and Robert McKinley both with 35 put on 79 for the 8th wicket but it was the delayed return of Malan that broke that stand and snuffed out any hope of a come from behind win by Instonians.

Waringstown claimed the other Cup-Final spot with a thrilling last ball, one wicket win over last year's winners CIYMS.
CIYMS posted an impressive 290/5, built around two century partnerships; Chris Dougherty (78) and Nigel Jones (39) adding 109 for the second wicket and then Matt McGillivray (73) and Ryan Hunter (48*) a further 120 for the fourth.
Phil Eaglestone the only bowler to claim more than one wicket and thirty extras in that CI score with missed catches adding to the visiting supporters frustration.

At 52/3 with Hall, McCollum and Nelson all gone and the reassuring presence of McCallan down the order missing the odds were definitely in the home sides favour.
Shaheen Khan has played some destructive innings in his time but none was as important as his marshalling of the chase today.
Firstly with Adanm Dennison (45) he added 53 for the fourth, with Greg Thompson (23) he added 53 for the fifth and finally 99 with Marcus McClean (42) for the 6th.

CI hopes were raised when he was finally dismissed, bowled by Matt McGillivray for a magnificent 126 but Marcus McClean (42) stepped up and his 6 into the tennis courts in the 48th over tipped the balance back to the visitors.
The excitement wasn't entirely over as McClean was run out attempting a bye to the keeper and with James Mitchell suffering the same fate a scrambled run off the final delivery was enough to see Waringstown home by the slimmest of margins.

In the only Premier League match it was a welcome victory for Muckamore who climb to mid table with a 3 wicket win over Carrickfergus.
The visitors totalled 198/7 with Ian Parkhill (50) and Jack Burton and Jamie Holmes both adding thirties and Carrick would have been hopeful of defending that with their varied bowling attack.
They would have but for the efforts of Fahad Iqbal who came in at 64/2 and saw Muckamore home with an unbeaten 80 with 7 balls to spare. Adita Adey (31) the only other contributor as Carrick shared the wickets around - Dan Cooper with 3 and Ryan Eagleson and Daniel Poulton 2 each.

In Section one the 'top of the table' clash between Lisburn and Bangor turned out to be a very one-sided affair, indeed too was a one man show with David Simpson the star.
First he scored 126 in the Lisburn total of 270/7 and then followed it up with 6-42 with the ball - Robin Walsh no doubt scrambling through the League Awards records to see if anyone has done the 'double' before.

Lisburn four points clear then by virtue of playing a match more that the chasing pack.

A big win also for chasers Downpatrick over bottom club Lurgan - Ryan Smyth with 115 for Downpatrick in 282/7 and Lurgan all out for 121 to lose by a huge 161 runs.

Woodvale came unstuck at Cregagh, after a couple of big chases recently the visitors could only manage 165 in reply to the Cregagh total of 190 for who Aaron Johnston (45) and Adam McCormick (45) top scored.
For Woodvale Farhan Saeed took 4-38 and there were two wickets each for Timmy Browne and Ewan Scott.

Jamie Gibson (40) and JJ Strydom (38) were the only significant scorers for the visitors while for Cregagh Adam Beattie (3-39) and Graeme Hassard (2-23) were the most successful bowlers.

Mark Adair again with runs and wickets for Holywood, 44 out of their 131 and then 3-30 with the ball as Holywood came away 34 run victors.
Young Luke Allison was the pick of the 'Cloney Mill attack taking 3-39 while for Holywood it was Andrew Haire who backed up Adair with an impressive 3-12.

Back to winning ways for Derriaghy with a 3 wicket win over Laurelvale.
Laurelvale totalled 215/7 thanks to David Sinton (61) and Dean McAlinden (52) but Ross Bailey with 86 ensured a three wicket win for Derriaghy.

Still not half-way through the season but already things looking bleak for Lurgan, hard to see where a couple of wins are going to come from.


CIYMS lost to Waringstown by 1 wicket. Belmont, 30 June.
CIYMS 290-5 (50.0 overs, C Dougherty 78, M McGillvray 73, R Hunter 48*; P Eaglestone 2-61)
Waringstown 291-9 (50.0 overs, S Khan 129, A Dennison 45, M McClean 42; A Coulter 2-41, M McGillvray 2-52)

Instonians lost to CSN by 72 runs. Shaw's Bridge, 30 June.
CSN 278-9 (50.0 overs, A Wright 47 , J Kennedy 41, A Malan 34, J Magee 4-51, S Getkate 2-48)
Instonians 206 (44.3 overs, A White 59, R McKinley 35 , S Bunting 35; M Topping 3-21, A Malan 3-39, G McCarter 2-29)


Muckamore beat Carrickfergus by 3 wickets. Moylena, 30 June.
Carrickfergus 198-7 (50 overs, I Parkhill 50, J Burton 30, J Holmes 30; P Kartik 2-23)
Muckamore 200-7 (48.5 overs, F Iqbal 80*, A Adey 31; D Cooper 3-36, R Eagleson 2-25, D Poulton 2-45)


Lisburn v Bangor
Lisburn 270-7 (D Simpson 126, G Halliday 56 not out, M Berry 33, J Waite 29; T Khan 3-54)
Bangor 100 (A Wood 33 not out, C Burns 26; D Simpson 6-42, M Berry 3-41)
Lisburn won by 170 runs

Holywood v Donaghcloney Mill
Holywood 131 (M Adair 44; L Allison 3-39, M Campbell 2-18, S McCart 2-23, J Stevenson 2-26)
Donaghcloney Mill 97 (A Haire 3-12, M Adair 3-30, W Hurn 2-21, J Wilson 2-23)
Holywood won by 34 runs

Cregagh v Woodvale
Cregagh 190 (A Johnston 45, A McCormick 45, A Beattie 24; F Saeed 4-38, T Browne 2-25, E Scott 2-45)
Woodvale 165 (J Gibson 40, JJ Strydom 38; L Moore 3-31, A Beattie 3-39, G Hassard 2-23)
Cregagh won by 25 runs

Derriaghy v Laurelvale
Laurelvale 215-7 (D Sinton 61, D McAlinden 52, B Khan 47)
Derriaghy 216-7 (R Bailey 86, A Jamison 26; J Haire 2-48)
Derriaghy won by 3 wickets

Lurgan v Downpatrick
Downpatrick 282-7 (R Smyth 115, C Martin 43, A Bingham 2-44)
Lurgan 121 (M Yeates 3-25, M Acocks 3-29)
Downpatrick won by 161 runs