Batting second was the order of the day as all the games went the way of the chasers with Waringstown the only home side to take the points in what was a rain reduced match.

At The Mall runs were again in short supply as John Matchett's run out of Armagh's overseas player Shadley van Shalkwyk for nought cut off the home sides best chance of setting a total that would in any way test visitors CIYMS.

Neil Gelston's 23 was top score in a total of 100 which was knocked off inside 15 overs by the visitors for whom Nigel Jones scored 38 to add to his earlier 4-17 as CIYMS ran out 7 wicket winners.

With Pat Botha sidelined for another couple of weeks Carrickfergus flew in Neil Hornbuckle as a replacement and he rewarded them with 61.
Iain Parkhill (51) and Michael Gilmour (32) had added 65 for the first wicket but the Carrick total of 258/9 from 47 overs is only just about par on what is probably the fastest scoring ground in the country. Ben Adair 4-52 and Alan Blain 3-41 the best of the CSNI attack.

The wicket of Cowden for nought proved to be a mixed blessing for Carrick as it brought together Marc Ellison (98) and André Malan (107) in a partnership worth 182.
Chris McMorran then added 31* as CSNI claimed their first points of the season winning by 4 wickets with two overs to spare. Ryan Eagleson's 2-36 the best figures for the home side.

At Moylena it was Fahad Iqbal (79) top scoring for the home side along with with Craig Drummond (26) as Muckamore totalled 178.
For Instonians it was a fit again Stephen Bunting with 3-29 and an evergreen Eugene Moleon with 3-15 who did the damage with the ball.

Nikolai Smith (82) and Olly Metcalfe (23) put on 62 for the first wicket and when Metcalfe fell Jordan McClurkin (37) added a further 84 with Smith to take Inst within sight of victory.
The loss of a couple of wickets with the target less than ten meant that the victory margin was rather more comfortable than even the 5 wicket margin suggests.

What was the match of the day took a long time to get off the ground - rain delaying the start until only a 25 over game was on the menu when the skies cleared.

In the shortened format it was Ryan Haire who opened with Danny Graham.
Haire set off at a rate of knots, adding 40 for the first wicket and 68 for the second with Ally Shields to leave the visitors 108/2 when he departed for 59.
Shields (83*) and Ruhan Pretorius (41*) then added an unbroken 99 for the third wicket as North Down finished with an imposing 207/2 in their 25 overs.

The Waringstown reply saw James Hall (75) and Adam Dennison (49) put on 120 for the first wicket and with Lee Nelson adding a brisk 27 the home side got home with 4 balls and 5 wickets to spare to maintain their position at the top of the points table.


Waringstown beat North Down by 5 wickets.
The Lawn, 16 June.
North Down 207-2 (25.0 overs, A Shields 83*, Ryan Haire 59, R Pretorius 41*)
Waringstown 208-5 (24.2 overs, J Hall 75, A Dennison 49, L Nelson 27*, R Pretorius 3 -29)

Muckamore lost to Instonians by 5 wickets.
Moylena, 16 June.
Muckamore 178 (44.5 overs, F Iqbal 79, C Drummond 26, E Moleon 3-15, S Bunting 3-29, Nikolai Smith 2-13)
Instonians 179-5 (41.4 overs, Nikolai Smith 82, J McClurkin 37, F Iqbal 2-45, A Adey 2 -50)

Carrickfergus lost to CSNI by 4 wickets.
Middle Road, 16 June.
Carrickfergus 258-9 (47.0 overs, N Hornbuckle 61, I Parkhill 51, A Haggan 36 , B Adair 4-52, A Blain 3-41)
CSNI 262-6 (45.0 overs, A Malan 107, M Ellison 98, C McMoran 31*, R Eagleson 2 -36)
DLS Method: par score 261 in 47 overs.

Armagh lost to CIYMS by 7 wickets.
The Mall, 16 June.
Armagh 100 (35.0 overs, N Jones 4-17, J Cameron-Dow 3-24, T Britton 21-2)
CIYMS 102-3 (14.2 overs, N Jones 38, S van Shalkwyck 2-22)