Fingal Girls Cup 2018

The Fingal Girls Cup, now in its fourth year, saw four National schools competing in a league structure finishing with a final held this week at Malahide CC.

The competition was run for National schools and participating this year were: Milverton NS (Skerries), Balrothery NS, St Andrew’s NS (Malahide) and Oliver Plunkett’s NS (Malahide).

The competition has been a big success over the last four years with three different schools winning and has produced a lot of high quality cricketers.

The competition was run during April, May & June with over 60 girls taking part.

After the series of league games finished, Oliver Plunkett’s NS were top with St Andrew’s NS coming second. These two schools competed in the final on Wednesday, June 6th at Malahide Cricket Club where Oliver Plunkett’s NS came out the winners.

We had an amazing sunny day with one of the biggest crowds at a Leinster schools match with over 250 spectators watching a very close final which only had 15 runs in it at the end.

The tournament has been a huge success with 90% of the girls participating having since gone on to join their local clubs.

Reinhardt Strydom (Fingal Development Officer)

Fingal Girls Cup Results

Tuesday 24 April Milverton NS v Balrothery NS (Girls Cup) – North County CC Indoor Milverton 133 in 18 overs Emily O’Sullivan & Amy McGuire 15, Kathy Weldon & Sarah Hoare 6 Balrothery NS 186 in 18 overs Ruby Sheeran & Chloe Scanlan 29, Libby Davis & Anna Lucsly 25 Balrothery won by 49 runs

Monday 30 April St Andrews NS v Milverton NS (Malahide CC) St Andrew’s NS 215 in 18 overs Chloe Bryan & Mia O’Neill 28, Emilia Thorbox & Megan Comiskey 21 Milverton NS 165 in 18 overs Amy McGuire & Emily O’Sullivan 26, Sophie Brown & Aoife Clarke 19 St Andrew’s won by 45 runs

Tuesday 1 May Oliver Plunketts v Balrothery NS (Malahide CC) (Girls Cup) Oliver Plunkett’s NS 221 in 18 Zara Troy & Teagan Tevally 32, Saibh Mitchell & Clodagh Fox 26 Balrothery NS 180 in 18 overs Chloe Scanlon & Mallory Butterly 24, Amy Davis & Abi Dunn 17 Oliver Plunkett’s NS won by 41 runs

Friday 18 May – The Hills CC Milverton v Oliver Plunketts (Girls Cup) Oliver Plunkett’s NS 143 in 20 overs Zara Troy & Teagan Devalley 55, Amelia Nolen & Ciara Paul 35 Milverton NS 102 in 20 overs Libby Byrne & Sophie Brown 30, Kate Archer & Sarah Byrne 29 Oliver Plunkett’s NS won by 41 runs

Tuesday 22 May – Malahide CC Oliver Plunketts v St Andrews NS (Girls Cup) – 10am Oliver Plunkett’s 91 in 18 overs Amelia Nolan & Ciara Paul 23, Zara Troy & Teagan Devally 21 St Andrew’s NS 66 in 18 overs Chloe Bryan & Mia O’Neill 19, Amelia Tarbox & Erica Dresman 14 Oliver Plunketts won by 25 runs

Monday 28 May – North County CC Balrothery NS v St Andrews NS (Girls Cup) St Andrews 151 in 18 overs Chloe Bryan and Mia O’Neill 38, Kate McKenna and Ella Burke 29 Balrothery NS 81 in 18 overs Mallory Butler and Tegan Hand 24, Amy Davis and Abbie Dunn’s 18 St Andrew’s NS won by 70 runs

Wednesday 6 June – Malahide CC Fingal Girls Cup Final – St Andrew’s NS v Oliver Plunkett’s NS Oliver Plunkett’s NS 85 in 18 overs Clodagh Fox & Saibh Mitchell 32, Zara Troy & Teagan Devalley 20 St Andrew’s NS 71 in 18 overs Chloe Bryan & Mia O’Neill 30, Eve Canny & Beatrice Ni Chonghaile 16 Oliver Plunkett’s NS won by 15 runs