The Asian Cricket Council has begun its 2018 tournament calendar today in Thailand with the ACC East Region T20 tournament. With the top associates in their Eastern region (Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal & Singapore) already having an Asia Cup Qualifier later in the year, this tournament has been arranged for the remaining countries who otherwise wouldn't have an ACC organised tournament to play in.

The opening match of the day saw China batting first after winning the toss against Bhutan. Whilst opener Lu Cangcang carried his bat for an unbeaten 35, no other Chinese batsman was even able to reach double figures as they were bowled out for just 73, Thinley Jamtsho taking 3-14.

Bhutan lost Tandin Wangchuk without scoring from just the second ball of their reply, but were otherwise untroubled. Jigme Singye (31) and Suprit Pradhan (32) knocked off the required runs without loss in 10.1 overs to secure the nine wicket win.

In the second match, hosts Thailand took on perennial ACC tournament whipping boys Myanmar, with the home side batting first after captain Daniel Jacobs won the toss. It was Jacobs who led the way throughout most of their innings, sharing in a 45 run partnership for the third wicket with Chanchai Pengkumta and a 60 run partnership for the fourth wicket with Robert Raina before he was out for 41.

Raina was the next man out for 39 and Thailand closed their innings on 177-5. Khan Aye was the pick of the Myanmar bowlers with 2-23.

Myanmar lost both openers for ducks in the first over and never recovered from there. Ye Naing Tun's 15 was the only score in double figures for the visitors as they were bowled out for 47, losing by 130 runs. Chanchai Pengkumta and Payuputh Sungnard both took three wickets for the hosts.

The tournament continues tomorrow with China playing Myanmar and Thailand playing Bhutan.


Bhutan beat China by 9 wickets
Terdthai Cricket Ground, Thailand, 21 February
China 73 (19.4 overs, Lu Cangcang 35*, T Jamtsho 3-14)
Bhutan 74-1 (10.1 overs)

Thailand beat Myanmar by 130 runs
Terdthai Cricket Ground, Thailand, 21 February
Thailand 177-5 (20 overs, D Jacobs 41, R Raina 39)
Myanmar 47 (18 overs, P Sungnard 3-12, C Pengkumta 3-15)