New Lightning skipper George Dockrell is aiming for another treble as Lightning show an appetite for destruction over their interprovincial rivals.

Tournament organisers have resisted calls for a restructure of the competition which has been dominated by Leinster since it was reintroduced back in 2013.

The Dubliners have won 13 of the 15 trophies available across all the formats, which isn't surprising given the depth of talent at their disposal - often having a squad full of senior internationals.

Dockrell is keen to continue the winning habit, in partnership with new vice-captain Andy Balbirnie and coach Albert van der Merwe.

"The team has been incredibly successful since the start of the competition so I'm looking forward to trying to continue that success," said Dockrell. 

"I'm very excited to be captaining the team which has so much experience and quite a few young lads coming through also.

"I think it'll make for a very exciting season for us as we try and retain all three trophies."

Dockrell is excited by the prospect of working closely with former team-mate Albert van der Merwe, who won the treble in his first season at the helm. 

"I'm really looking forward to working with Albie.

"He always sets high standards for us and I've learnt a lot from him both from his time as a player and now in a coaching capacity."

Lightning begin their championship defence with a home match against the Warriors at Oakhill, while their T20 campaign opener is an away day trip to The Mardyke to face Munster Reds.

Their first 50-over match is against Northern Knights at The Hills on June 4, while they round off the season at Rathmines on September 9th in another 50-over contest.

In one new change to the format for 2018, Pembroke's Sydney Parade will hold a three-day T20 Festival from July 6-8. Lightning will play Munster Reds in the final game of the weekend at 4pm on the Sunday, when Dockrell will be hoping to hold aloft yet another trophy.


  • Leinster Lightning v NW Warriors (Championship, May 1-3, Oakhill)
  • Munster Reds v Leinster Lightning (T20, May 18, Mardyke)
  • Northern Knights v Leinster Lightning (T20, May 25, Shaw's Bridge)
  • Northern Knights v Leinster Lightning (Championship, May 29-31, Comber)
  • Leinster Lightning v Northern Knights (50-over, June 4, The Hills)
  • NW Warriors v Leinster Lightning (T20, June 8th, Bready)
  • NW Warriors v Leinster Lightning (50-overs, June 19th, Eglinton)
  • NW Warriors v Leinster Lightning (Championship, June 20-22, Bready)
  • Northern Knights v Leinster Lightning (50-over, July 1, Stormont)
  • T20 Festival at Pembroke, July 6-8
  • Leinster Lightning v Northern Knights (Championship, September 4-6, Malahide)
  • Leinster Lightning v NW Warriors (50-over, September 9, Rathmines)