Canada have named their squad for next month's Division Two WCL tournament and the surprise news is the exclusion of powerful all-rounder Rizwan Cheema.

Cheema on his day is one of the most destructive batsmen in Associate cricket, but it would appear the Canadian selectors have lost faith with him.

Nitish Kumar leads the 14-man squad, which also features Ruvundu Gunasekera. Ingelton Liburd coaches the team, assisted by former paceman Henry Osinde.

Canada will be vying with UAE, Kenya, Nepal, Oman and hosts Namibia for the final two places in the WCQ tournament.

The competition gets under way in Windhoek from February 8-15 and Canada will spend two weeks in South Africa preparing for the tournament.


Nitish Kumar (captain), Bhavindu Adhihetty, Navneet Dhaliwal , Ruvindu Gunasekera, Nicholas Kirton, Srimantha Wijeyeratne , Dhanuka Pathirana, Nikhil Dutta, Dilon Heyliger, Hamza Tariq, Cecil Pervez, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Junaid Siddiqui, Saad Zafar