Uganda has become the latest country to set up a T20 tournament with the ongoing Afro T20 scheduled to run until Saturday.

Originally slated to he held in Kenya, organisational difficulties led the competition organisers to a late switch to Uganda who happily stepped in, recognising the potential for the tournament to grow the game throughout the country.

The tournament has no fewer than eight different franchises - Roaring Lions, Charging Leopards, Mighty Rhinos, Striking Panthers, Hippo Warriors, Raging Bulls, Royal Elephants and Rising Zebras - there's a theme there!

Players have been assembled from all over the globe to augment the local talent, with representatives from Pakistan, India, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya, UAE and Afghanistan.

The main attraction is former Pakistan international Saeed Ajmal who told the opening press conference: “We are here not only to enjoy but also to promote the game of cricket in Uganda. And we surely want to help these youngsters."

The winning team will take home 50,000 US Dollars with the runners up getting 25,000 and third 10,000. In addition there will be a $300 Man-of-the-Match award for each game. The matches are broadcast live on SuperSports, Neo Sports and PTV.