GEORGE DOCKRELL took 6 for 29 to spin Leinster Lighting to an innings win over Northern Knights on the final day of the Hanley Energy Inter-Provincial Championship match as Castle Avenue.

The left-armer struck twice in his third over of the morning, trapping Shane Getkate - who had been dropped twice in an eventful start to the day - for 14, and then three balls later bowling Graeme McCarter (0).

Knights skipper James Shannon found a willing ally in Jamie Magowan, and together the pair defied everything Lightning threw at them.

They added 54 in 21.1 overs, combining watchful defence with the occasional flashing drive, taking advantage of the attacking field settings.

The resistance was finally ended when Lightning skipper John Anderson induced an edge from Magowan (30) and Lorcan Tucker took a fine catch.

Robert McKinley joined Shannon and the pair gained a moral victory as they survived the rest of the morning session to force the game into the afternoon.

However, a revitalised Dockrell and Lightning ensured a swift conclusion when first Shannon edged behind and eight balls later he struck again having McKinley (18) caught by Joyce at slip - 12 runs short of making Lightning bat again.

Shannon's top score of 60 ensured he finished the Championship's leading run scorer with 446 runs at 74.33, while Dockrell's second six-wicket haul ensured he was the leading wicket taker in the first-class tournament with 22.

Hanley Energy's Niall Franklin presented the trophy to John Anderson as Lightning claimed the trophy for the fifth year in succession.

The inter-provincial series concludes this Sunday at Rathmines when Lightning and Knights meet again in the 50-over Cup.

Meanwhile, Cricket Ireland have confirmed that the National Cup Final, postponed last Sunday, will take place on Saturday September 9th at North County Cricket Club, with a 12pm start.


At Castle Avenue, Day 3 of 3

Leinster Lightning beat Northern Knights by an innings and 12 runs

Northern Knights 195 and 176 all out (63.2 overs; J Shannon 60, J Magowan 30, C Dougherty 23, G Dockrell 6-29, K O'Brien 2-31)

Leinster Lightning 383-8 (88.3 overs; E Joyce 167*, T Kane 75, S Terry 73; S Getkate 4-62, R McKinley 2-79)