The 6th National Cup final takes place at Bready on Sunday and it's an all-Leinster clash between Malahide and Terenure.

2013 winners Malahide would be seen as favourites, but Peter Chase's unavailability certainly evens the contest up.

Terenure have been involved in a number of thrillers and when that happens you get the feeling their name could well be on the cup.

The action in the 40-over contest gets under way on Sunday at 12.30pm.

Malahide club captain Alan Reynolds looked forward to the contest saying: "We as a club have been really looking forward to the day and are confident going in after how we have performed in this competition this year.

"Terenure will be a good test for us but I think if we can show up on the day and perform our skills hopefully the trophy will be returning to the Village.

"Unfortunately we are missing Peter Chase who is unavailable to play due to the travel but we have had good squad depth this season and have 11 lads we feel can do the job on the day."

Terenure captain Conor Mullen was clearly delighted to be at the helm for a rare final appearance for the club, who hope to make the most of their day in the sun.

"It is a great honour and a privilege for our team to have this opportunity to play in the National Cup Final. As a team, we have enjoyed our Cup run this year which has included victory in a super-over against Limerick and a quarter-final win over Rush (the reigning champions) by just one wicket.

"Our squad has a good blend of youth and experience. Our overseas player, Givon Christian has contributed strongly throughout the season and we have been delighted to have Jeremy Bray in our squad as he brings a wealth of talent and expertise in addition to his proven coaching skills.

"We are particularly pleased with the progress of some of our younger players this season including Leinster Under 15 player, Seamus Lynch, who is an exciting all-rounder and has settled in well to Senior cricket.

"Our league form has been challenging and would suggest that Malahide are strong favourites, especially given the relative strength of their squad. That said, we will looking to put in a strong performance in what will be our first major final in almost 20 years."


Alan Reynolds (C), James Newland (VC), Fintan McAllister (wk) Keith Reynolds, Callum Riches, Neil Boyne, SJ De Klerk, David O'Halloran, Sean Davey, Michael Hingston, Danny O'Shea and 12th Wilhelm De Klerk.

Terenure (from):

Conor Mullen (Capt), Colm Morgan, Dónal Lynch, Givon Christian, Jeremy Bray (Wkt), Kenny McDonald, Michael Cotter, Mohammad Arshad, Séamus Lynch, Subby Ramnathpur, Waqar Hussain, Yasir Cheema Scorer: David Brennan