Malaysia's hopes for a second cricket gold medal were dashed today in the final of the men's Twenty20 completion at the Kinrara Academy Oval in Kuala Lumpur as they were beaten by old rivals Singapore.

Malaysia captain Anwar Arudin won the toss and chose to bat first, and if Malaysia were looking to their in-form captain to set a platform, they were out of luck as Mohamed Shoib had him trapped lbw from the first ball of the match.

Numbers 3 and 4 Ahmed Fiaz and Shafiq Sharif were also out for ducks in quick succession, and Malaysia found themselves well on the back foot on 5-3. Virandeep Singh and Suharril Fetri set about rebuilding the innings, putting on 93 in 14.2 overs.

Singh was dismissed for 57, which sparked a mini collapse of four wicket for four runs in 1.5 overs. Fetri held up an end to finish unbeaten on 35, but there was no other score in double figures for the home side, who were restricted to 117-7 from their 20 overs.

Singapore also lost their opener and captain Anish Paraam in their first over, but there was no corresponding ducks for numbers 3 and 4, as Navin Param and Rezza Gaznavi put on 39 for the second wicket before Param was out for 29.

Gaznavi was out soon afterwards, bringing Riaz Hussien to the crease, and it was him who took Singapore to their gold medal. He got them to a position where they needed just three from the last over, with Hussien taking his score to an unbeaten 37 as they secured a three wicket win with one ball to spare.

Earlier in the day, Indonesia took on Thailand in the bronze medal match. Thailand batted first after winning the toss, but were restricted to just 96-7 from their 20 overs. Indonesia scored the required runs in 18 overs to win by four wickets to add a men's T20 bronze to the silver won by their women's team.


Indonesia beat Thailand by 4 wickets
Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur, 29 August
Thailand 96-7 (20 overs)
Indonesia 97-6 (18 overs, Muhaddis Muhaddis 41)

Malaysia lost to Singapore by 3 wickets
Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur, 29 August
Malaysia 117-7 (20 overs, Virandeep Singh 57, Suharril Fetri 35*)
Singapore 118-7 (19.5 overs, R Hussien 37*)

Final cricket medal table

1. Malaysia - 1 gold, 1 silver, 1 bronze
2. Singapore - 1 gold, 1 silver
3. Thailand - 1 gold, 1 bronze
4. Indonesia - 1 silver, 1 bronze