The loss of Instonians / Carrickfergus fixture to the weather meant that only three games were contested in the top section and with all three going as the pundits would have predicted it’s as you were at the top with four points seperating Waringstown and North Down with CIYMS joining Carrickfergus a further four back.

A routine win for leaders Waringstown was on the cards from the moment they dismissed Muckamore for only 123 at The Lawn where Jamie Magowan’s 53 was by far the top score for the visitors.
The early loss of Adam Dennison and James Hall, both to Neil Gill did little to slow Waringstown’s progress to a five wicket victory inside thirty overs.

CIYMS managed 205/8 in their 50 overs at Belmont where Chris Dougherty (64) and Matt McGillivray (59*) contributed more than half the home side’s total while Ben Adair 4-43 was the pick of the CSNI attack.
The CSNI reply never got off the ground and it was only a 41 run 5th wicket partnership between Graeme McCarter (42) and Mansoor Amjad (22) that took them to respectability at 155, bowled out in the 47th over.

The final game of the day almost produced the shock of the day, many would say should have produced the shock of the day as Lisburn contrived to lose a game from what seemed a winning position.
Nathan Burns (85) was top scorer for North Down whose 210 never looked to be enough as Robert Rankin (69) and Gionne Koopman (40) put on 112 for the first wicket.
186 for 3 became 186 for 4 and from there it was all downhill for Lisburn as Ruhan Pretorius (3-27) and Peter Eakin (3-51) blew away the rest as Lisburn lost 6 wickets for only 16 runs and fell 8 runs short when their 50 overs ran out.

A win for Lisburn would have sent tremors through the Instonians and CSNI camps but as it is they both remain 4 points ahead of an increasingly perilous looking Lisburn.

Some ‘double headers’ over the next few weeks will clarify things even more but for the moment it remains tight at both end of the Premier League table.

Premier League Results:

CIYMS v CSNI at Belmont.
CIYMS won by 50 runs
CIYMS 205-8 (50 overs; C Dougherty 64, M McGillivray 59*, B Adair 4-43)
CSNI 155 (46.1 overs; G McCarter 42, M Amjad 22; J Mulder 3-26, M McGillivray 2-26)

Waringstown v Muckamore at The Lawn.
Waringstown won by 5 wickets
Muckamore 123 (39.1 overs; J Magowan 53, I Hussain 21; S Khan 3-16, K McCallan 3-27, P Eaglestone 2-24)
Waringstown 124-5 (28.4 overs; S Khan 44, J McCollum 37, G Thompson 24*; N Gill 2-30)

North Down v Lisburn at Comber.
North Down won by 8 runs
North Down 210 (50 overs; N Burns 85, C Robinson 37; G Koopman, M Berry 2-44; D Simpson 2-54)
Lisburn 202-9 (50 overs; R Rankin 69, G Koopman 40, N Doak 29; R Pretorius 3-27, P Eakin 3-51)