The Netherlands have announced their squad for the coming 50-over matches against the United Arab Emirates, scheduled for the 17th, 19th and 20th of this month. With county-players Roelof van der Merwe and Timm van der Gugten staying in the UK and Otago's Michael Rippon back in New Zealand the series offer coach Ryan Cambell the opportunity to test some new blood.

All three of ACC's Zulfiqar triplets have been included in the sqaud, with Sikander already established in the national set-up and Asad and Saqib impressing in the Topklasse and recent Netherlands A games, there is a chance the tour may see all three take the field together. Though not the first time in international cricket three brothers turn out for their country (Kenya's Ngoche brothers being the most recent example), it would certainly be the first time a national side fielded triplets, and indeed a List A first as well.

With both first-choice spinners unavailable and spinning all-rounder Pieter Seelaar still sidelined due to injury, the series also gives Umar Baker a chance to make his case for national selection. Despite a tough season in the Topklasse VOC's Baker has impressed with the A team and in the Pro Series. Also featuring in the squad are VRA's left-arm seamer Fred Klaassen who took two wickets on debut against Zimbabwe as well as HBS' keeper-captain Tobias Visée and VOC's Max O'Dowd.

Following an unexpected delay to the UAE's arrival, the dates of the tour have been pushed back by a week, with venues as-yet unconfirmed, though the first match is expected to be at VRA in Amstelveen, with the others split between VCC in Voorburg and VOC in Rotterdam.


 UAE Tour of the Netherlands:

  • 17 July: Netherlands v UAE - 50 over match - (11am - Venue TBC)
  • 19 July: Netherlands v UAE - 50 over match - (11am - Venue TBC)
  • 20 July: Netherlands v UAE - 50 over match - (11am - Venue TBC)

Netherlands Squad:  Peter Borren (Captain), Wesley Barresi, Ben Cooper, Asad Zulfiqar, Frederick Klaassen, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Shane Snater, Logan van Beek, Tobias Visée, Saqib Zulfiqar, Sikander Zulfiqar, Umar Baker, Paul Van Meekeren.

UAE Squad:  Rohan Mustafa (Captain), Shaiman Anwar (Vice Captain), Ghulum Shabbir, Muhammad Qasim, Rameez Shahzad, Muhammad Usman, Adnan Mufti, Chirag Suri, Ahmed Raza, Imran Haider, Muhammad Naveed, Amjad Javed, Zahoor Khan, Qadeer Ahmed.