Ed Joyce is one of 11 internationals named in the Leinster Lightning squad to play the NW Warriors at The Hills on Monday (10.45am)

The 38 year-old will make his debut for a Lightning side aiming for a third treble in a row under the guidance of new coach Albert van der Merwe.

Indeed, there would have been 12 internationals taking the field but for the absence of Lorcan Tucker, who has examinations at Trinity.

Ireland Under 19 international Jamie Grassi takes the gloves, while the other non-international is YMCA all-rounder Simi Singh, who celebrated his Irish citizenship last week with a stirring series of displays for Ireland Wolves - including 97 against Gloucestershire.

Kevin O'Brien is included after recovering from a recent hamstring injury, and will come in direct opposition to older sibling Niall, who has been included in the North-West Warriors squad for 2017.

Leinster also unveiled the formation of a Lightning Bolt (U-23/Development) squad which they hope will provide invaluable opportunities for the younger players in the Province to showcase their abilities at a higher level and push for a place in the senior side.

They will be captained by YMCA’s Jack Tector, and are scheduled to play their first set of matches home and away against the Northern Knights emerging side on the 6th May in Saintfield Cricket Club and the 28th May at Oakhill.


  • John Anderson (Captain – Merrion)
  • Andrew Balbirnie (Pembroke)
  • Peter Chase (Malahide)
  • George Dockrell (Leinster / Dublin University)
  • Jamie Grassi (North County)
  • Ed Joyce (Merrion)
  • Tyrone Kane (Merrion)
  • Josh Little (Pembroke)
  • Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union)
  • Eddie Richardson (North County)
  • Simi Singh (YMCA)
  • Max Sorensen (The Hills)
  • Sean Terry (The Hills).  


  • Jack Tector (Captain – YMCA)
  • Rory Anders (Phoenix)
  • David Delany (Clontarf)
  • Gareth Delany (Leinster)
  • Stephen Doheny (Rush)
  • Jamie Grassi (North County)
  • Josh Little (Pembroke)
  • Sam Murphy (YMCA)
  • Andy Sheridan (North County)
  • Tom Stanton (Merrion)
  • Harry Tector (YMCA)
  • Fiachra Tucker (Pembroke).