Vanuatu and Fiji look set for a final day qualifying show down as both won their second matches at the East Asia-Pacific World Cricket League Qualifier in Bendigo today.

At Canterbury Park, the Philippines won the toss and put tournament favourites Vanuatu into bat. They initially gave them a scare taking the first three wickets for just 32 runs before Nalin Nipiko and Andrew Mansale put on 75 for the fourth wicket.

The partnership ended when Nipiko was bowled by Ruchir Mahajan for 45, before Mansale and Trevor Langa put on 95, the latter bringing up his fifty shortly before he was also bowled by Machajhan. Mansale was also dismissed by Mahajan, but not before scoring 66.

The final total for Vanuatu was 224-6 from their 50 overs, with Daniel Smith also taking three wickets. The Philippines then struggled in reply, with only three batsmen making double figures. Thee Vanuatu bowlers took two wickets and there were three run outs as they were bowled out for 103, losing by 121 runs.

Over at Dower Park, Samoa batted first against Fiji after winning the toss, with Sean Cotter and Uilisone Kaisara putting on 85 for the opening wicket. The partnership ended when the latter was out for 46. Cotter batted on to score 42 before falling in the middle of a mini-collapse from 118-1 to 119-5.

With yesterday's top scorer Benjamin Mailata having got out for a golden duck, it was left to Maletino Maiava and Tiafala Alatasi to prevent total disaster. The pair put on 65 for the seventh wicket, and Maiava finished the innings unbeaten on 37. Samoa scored 205-7 from their 50 overs, with Riyad Khan taking 4-36.

Fiji's reply started poorly with the first two wickets gone in quick succession with just five runs on the board. Cakacaka Veretaki and Sekove Ravoka then put on 55 for the third wicket, with Ravoka going on to score 58 before he was bowled by Daniel Burgess, the fifth wicket to fall.

That wicket brought Seru Tupou to the crease, and it was he who ended up doing the most to secure victory for the Fijians, top scoring with 70 from 73 balls. He fell with Fiji three runs short of their target, which was achieved three balls later, Fiji winning by 3 wickets.

At the Queen Elizabeth II Oval, Indonesia batted first against Japan after winning the toss. After losing Muhaddis Muhaddis early on, they had Anjar Tadarus and Viraj Bhammar put on 41 for the second wicket, before Bhammar and Rizky Rubbi put on 62 for the third.

Bhammar finished as the top scorer for Indonesia with 71 as they scored 210-7 from their 50 overs. Japan had five bowlers take one wicket each, and there were two run outs.

Indonesia had eight bowlers bowl in their innings, but this wasn't a sign of not knowing what to do against a more experienced Japanese side as they were able to bowl Japan out for 156 to win by 54 runs. Rizky Rubbi and Wayan Budiarta both took two wickets.

Tuesday is a rest day in Bendigo and the tournament continues on Wednesday with Vanuatu and Fiji looking to make it three wins from three as they take on Samoa and Japan respectively. Indonesia play the Philippines in the other match.


Vanuatu beat Philippines by 121 runs
Canterbury Park, Bendigo, 20 February
Vanuatu 224-6 (50 overs, A Mansale 66, T Langa 50, N Nipiko 45, D Smith 3-35, R Mahajan 3-51)
Philippines 103 (43.1 overs)

Fiji beat Samoa by 3 wickets
Dower Park, Bendigo, 20 February
Samoa 205-7 (50 overs, Uilisone Kaisara 46, S Cotter 42, M Maiava 37*, Riyad Khan 4-36)
Fiji 207-7 (47.5 overs, S Tupou 70, S Ravoka 58)

Indonesia beat Japan by 54 runs
Queen Elizabeth II Oval, Bendigo, 20 February
Indonesia 210-7 (50 overs, V Bhammar 71, Anjar Tadarus 36)
Japan 156 (45.1 overs)